English: Literature, Rhetoric, and Composition : 20th Century / Modern

Searches the archives of historical Black newspapers that are essential to a full understanding of U.S. history, including: The Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Searches can be limited to just the "review" section of these newspapers, especially useful for research in literature.

Rich primary source database with over 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from 1,325 women, colonial to 1950. Keyword-searchable and with some pre-selected sub-collections of primary sources arranged around important historical events. Also includes author biographies an

London Times from 1785 to 1985 not including the Sunday edition. Wide history of 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, with applicability in literary, women's, and postcolonial studies. Find reviews of authors' works as published during their lifetime.

30+ million records from over 2,000 cultural institutions in Europe, constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.

Over 7 million records from 1,200 cultural institutions in the U.S., constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.

Includes historic U.S. Newspapers, links to international collections, photographs, early sound recordings, manuscripts, and former American Memory collections. Of course, very strong in U.S. history, but also with holdings from various historical eras in other countries.

Make sure to use the yellow log-in button and select Northeastern. Millions of digitized titles from around the world, covering the 15th to 21st centuries. A Google Books for academic libraries, with a good amount of full-text access for public domain items.

Sketches from Leonardo da Vinci, Shakespeare folios, the original Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Blake's notebooks, the Ramayana, and more. Also see their Digitised Manuscripts, Online Exhibits, and Highlights Tour.

International in scope, one of the largest directories of which newspapers have been digitized. Some may be paid access only -- if you need a particular title first check here to see if it's been digitized, and then contact the Northeastern library to see if we have access or can locate a local library with access.

A listing of over 35,000 free books on the web, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Also includes listings of online serials (magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.)

Of China, India, France, Australia... always try a search for the national or regional libraries in your area of focus.

An electronic archive of American poetry prior to 1920, largely focused on the 19th century with some 18th and early 20th century texts. Full-text searchable.

Transcriptions of interviews with authors from the 1950s to the 2010s, including people like R. Crumb, Arthur Miller, Simone de Beauvior, Elizabeth Bishop, Ralph Ellison, John Ashbury, and more.

Collection of both edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the 17th through the early 20th century. Browsable by author/title; full-text searching also available. Supported by the Beck Center at Emory University.

Digital editions of culturally significant magazines from around the early 20th century, from Brown University and the University of Tulsa. Includes author biographies and a Directory of Periodicals.

Comprehensive critical and cultural history of modernist 'little magazines' in the period 1880-1945, including rich full text when possible. From the University of Sussex and De Montfort University.

At Yale University, includes a digital archive with links to primary sources. Most critical commentary on the site was developed by undergraduate and graduate students.

Catalog of digital historical newspapers, developed by the University of Florida Libraries. Links to over 1000 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US and Caribbean newspapers as possible.