English: Literature, Rhetoric, and Composition : Medieval (12th c. to late 15th c.)

Early modern women's writings from 1400 to 1850. Includes searchable full-text of books, poetry, and speeches as well as browse by date, author, and title.

Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700, with digital facsimile page images.

30+ million records from over 2,000 cultural institutions in Europe, constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.

Over 7 million records from 1,200 cultural institutions in the U.S., constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.

Includes historic U.S. Newspapers, links to international collections, photographs, early sound recordings, manuscripts, and former American Memory collections. Of course, very strong in U.S. history, but also with holdings from various historical eras in other countries.

Make sure to use the yellow log-in button and select Northeastern. Millions of digitized titles from around the world, covering the 15th to 21st centuries. A Google Books for academic libraries, with a good amount of full-text access for public domain items.

Sketches from Leonardo da Vinci, Shakespeare folios, the original Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Blake's notebooks, the Ramayana, and more. Also see their Digitised Manuscripts, Online Exhibits, and Highlights Tour.

International in scope, one of the largest directories of which newspapers have been digitized. Some may be paid access only -- if you need a particular title first check here to see if it's been digitized, and then contact the Northeastern library to see if we have access or can locate a local library with access.

A listing of over 35,000 free books on the web, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Also includes listings of online serials (magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.)

Of China, India, France, Australia... always try a search for the national or regional libraries in your area of focus.

From the Luminarium, an independent site with secondary sources as well as full-text works of English literature from the medieval and Renaissance periods and beyond, including Chaucer, Spenser, Milton, and Shakespeare. Each section will include extensive links to primary sources hosted at the Luminarium and elsewhere.

From the British Library's Treasures in Full, William Caxton's two editions of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, probably printed in 1476 and 1483. Includes the ability to compare texts side-by-side, plus additional scholarship from experts.

Sponsored by UCLA, search and browse by language, location, author, etc. to see digitized versions of full manuscripts in libraries worldwide. An excellent place to start if looking for a particular manuscript or author.

Amazing tool provided by Harvard University allowing you to map bishoprics of the Roman Empire, Papal States from the 8th to 13th centuries, Islamic Centers, Shipwrecks, and more. There are plans to release the behind-the-scenes data for download, so that scholars may do their own GIS wizardry at home.

Provides sophisticated advanced search of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts scattered over many institutions. From UC Berkeley Libraries.

From the British Library Treasures in Full, high-quality image scans with the ability to compare texts side-by-side, plus additional scholarship from experts.

Edited by Prof. Paul Halsall and hosted at Fordam University, also includes links to primary texts, secondary source, and teaching tools. One of the first websites to try to accomplish this task. NB: the emphasis of this site is on social/economic context, not literature, and many texts cover a time frame slightly earlier than what's considered "medieval" in English literature.

Sponsored by Georgetown University, a large collection of primarily European medieval sources. Another example of early attempts to catalog the Web. Browsable both by topic (art, Judaism, philosophy, etc.) and format (images, primary texts, maps).

Animals, body parts, medicinal herbs, and more! Browse by author illustrated, date, or subject. From the University of North Carolina Libraries.

From the British Library Treasures in Full, high-quality image scans of sample pages from the Winchester manuscript, plus additional scholarship from experts.

Attempts to provide access to "all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents)". Indexes more than 5 million digital images at libraries all over the world, includes very sophisticated advanced search features and image viewer.

From the University of Cambridge, collection of "images to enable you to explore the interface between the literature and visual culture of medieval England" and provides images corresponding to the main episodes dramatized in the English Mystery Plays.

Assembled by a professor at the University of British Columbia; as of January 2015 still being maintained. Portal to numerous digitized medieval manuscripts available online.

More than 2,000 manuscript pages and associated illuminations dating from the 9th through the 16th centuries, from the New York Public Library.

From the University of Michigan, gives "easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse."

From the University of Pennsylvania, over 2,000 images from manuscripts dating from the 1st to the 19th centuries. Not all records contain manuscript images, use the "facsimile available" to narrow down.

Not all features are available for free, but includes many works like the earliest known copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle, King Alfred's translation of Gregory the Great's Pastoral Care, the Ancrene Wisse, the Brut chronicle, and one of the finest copies of Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde. From Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, and Stanford University Libraries.

From Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, high-quality digital scans of more than 130 Roman de la Rose manuscripts, with the goal of including scans of all known copies.

Manuscript miscellanies and commonplace books from c. 1450-1720, with accompanying descriptions, transcriptions and bibliographies. From the University of Cambridge.

From the University of Rochester and Western Michigan University, aims to "make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions." Includes high-quality editing and scholarly notes.