Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Books and Ebooks, including Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Suggested resources in psychology.

Ebooks

Find the DSM 5-TR and other ebooks in PsychiatryOnline Premium Collection

APA Books E-collection contains the full text of 80 books relating to behavioral sciences from the American Psychological Association.

Sage Research Methods

 

 

Check Sage's Research Basics page for Psychology and for Counseling and Psychotherapy.

Use the Project Planner to get an overview of the research process.  

Little Blue Books cover qualitative methods (answering questions such as "How do I research drug-related violence?")

Little Green Books cover quantitative methods (answering questions such as "Where can I learn more about analysis of variance?")

 

Highly recommended encyclopedia

This resource is recommended for background information.

Do you need more explanation about a topic than is contained in a peer-reviewed article? In the Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences you will find a brief (8-10 page) overview of each topic, tracing major developments in the research over time. 

For example:

Search Executive Functioning 

for a definition and brief summary of research on this topic

New encyclopedia

FOR A PEEK INSIDE: for example, see this entry on Awe and the Natural Environment or this one on Eating Disorders

Ebooks

New books classified as psychology

Loading ...

New books classified as psychiatry and medicine

Loading ...

APA Books E-collection

APA Books E-collection contains the full text of 80 books relating to behavioral sciences from the American Psychological Association. 

 

APA ebooks

Older DSMs

NOTE: There has been a change. Older editions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders are no longer included in our PsychiatryOnline Premium Collection package.

You may be able to find a free pdf of the edition that you need, such as this 1987 DSM III-R in the Internet Archive. Please contact me if you are unable to find the edition that you need. 

Reference

On the 4th floor in the Reference Stacks, find reference books in psychology at BF and reference books in mental health, psychiatry, and health sciences at RC.

Book Catalog

IMPORTANT: Within Scholar OneSearch, limit your search to "Boston Catalogs" in the drop down menu to find books and ebooks.