Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Nursing: Research Essentials

This page provides a starting point for your research.

Research Essentials

Looking for articles but not sure where to start? For articles describing primary research, written by experts in the field, try the nursing and medical databases listed below.
The brief videos below will help you develop your research question, choose keywords and offer tips for improving your search results!

1.  Search nursing and health-related databases to find peer reviewed or scholarly articles on your topic.

2.  Choose keywords for your topic.

3.  Learn the shortcuts: use advanced search techniques to search databases more effectively and find the full text.

4.  Interlibrary Loan: Use ILLIad, our interlibrary loan service to request articles not owned by Snell Library. HINT:  click on the PDF link or the   "Check NU LIbrary" in your database search results. If the article is not available, you will be prompted to link to ILLiad to submit your request.

5.   Organize your citations using citation management tools such as RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley or Zotero. Import your citations from your database search, then autoformat them into your preferred citation style, and insert the reference list into your paper.         
        

Citation management workshops

The Spring 2021 citation management workshops are now open for registration. See our Training page for recordings of past webinars. 

Recordings are available for Endnote, RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, and Introduction to Citation Management. See how citation management software can help your create your bibliography and keep track of your references in this 60 second video.

Note: Librarians at Snell have created tutorials for setting up shortcuts for exporting to EndNote (Instructions for Mac and for PC).

If We Don't Have Access to an Article You Need...

Request articles or books not available at NU through ILLiad our interlibrary loan service. Articles are delivered electronically.