It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
A number of the Library'sarticle search enginesare useful for finding information about the federal government and its activities. Look below for historical newspaper and journal articles as well as links to government periodicals and news.
Consider specialized databases like Criminal Justice Abstracts or ERIC (education) for subject-specific research.
Please be aware that remote access to many of these resources is available for current NU affiliates only.
Includes PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of full-text journal collections. Databases may be searched individually or as a group.
Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, Social Sciences Premium includes
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Political Science Database
Criminal Justice Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Library Science Database
Library & Information Science Abstracts
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Social Science Database
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including public policy and public adminstration. The collection is now being updated to include articles published in recent years.
Covers all aspects of the Presidency including development of the office, executive powers, and relationships with Congress and the Supreme Court. Special features include brief biographies of the Presidents, Vice-Presidents, and First Ladies. The text is supported by charts and graphs.
Updated through the 2006 mid-term elections. Includes history, organization, powers and procedures. The text is supported by charts, and graphs. Special features include "How a Bill Becomes Law" and lists of members. Part of the CQ Political Reference Suite.
Congress and the Nation