Skip to main content

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Nursing: Neonatal Nursing Resources

This page provides a starting point for your research.

Welcome!

Welcome Neonatal Nurse Practitioner online students!
This research guide provides links to library services and resources for neonatal nursing research, including databases, e-journals and e-books.
As your librarian, and your "go-to" person for all things library-related, I'm dedicated to helping you become successful researchers, and I especially want you to feel welcome and confident using Snell Library's services and resources.
Please contact me for a consultation. I'm available by email, phone, and web conference. For immediate research help please use Chat 24
/7.

Snell Library Orientation

A brief overview of the Snell Library website, the Nursing Research Guide, and Neonatal Nursing resources. Begin your research here!

Neonatal Nursing Resources: find articles, journals, drug information, e-books and organizations

Looking for articles but not sure where to start? For articles describing primary research, written by experts in the field, try the nursing and medical databases listed below.
The brief videos below will help you develop your research question, choose keywords and offer tips for improving your search results!


Try these databases first!

Check out this short video to learn how to develop your research question! No time for a video? Flip through these slides!

Choosing your keywords carefully will help speed up the research process! Take a look at this brief video! Or check out these slides!

Need suggestions for using subject-specific databases, narrowing your search results, using subject headings and more? View the video or check out these slides!

To search for e-books, use the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch. On your search results screen, choose E-books under "material type" to retrieve only e-books.
For information about our e-book collections, please visit our page on E-books and E-book Collections. Information on E-book devices is also available. E-book collections with nursing content include: Books@Ovid, ANA Nursing Standards, ClinicalKey, AccessMedicine, AccessPharmacy, STAT!Ref, ProQuest E-book Central.

General Neonatal Care

Neonatal Pathophysiology

Infectious Diseases

Pharmacology

Standards of Care

Critical Care

Maternal/Fetal Medicine

1.  Search nursing and health-related databases to find peer reviewed or scholarly articles on your topic.

2.  Choose keywords for your topic.

3.  Learn the shortcuts: use advanced search techniques to search databases more effectively and find the full text.

4.  Interlibrary Loan: Use ILLIad, our interlibrary loan service to request articles not owned by Snell Library. HINT:  click on the PDF link or the   "Check NU LIbrary" in your database search results. If the article is not available, you will be prompted to link to ILLiad to submit your request.

5.   Organize your citations using citation management tools such as RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley or Zotero. Import your citations from your database search, then autoformat them into your preferred citation style, and insert the reference list into your paper.

6.   Get Help from a librarian
          Contact me: s.dunphy@northeastern.edu; 617-373-5322
          Send a message
          Call 617-373-2356
          Find Librarians by subject
          Ask 24/7

Loading ...

Peer Review

What is Peer Review?

Peer review is a form of quality control for scholarly information.

Peer review is a process by which a scholar's peers (other scholars in the same field) read, evaluate, and decide whether a new article is ready for publication. The article could be accepted, rejected, or returned for rewriting and revision. Most articles in scholarly journals (except for the editorials, commentary, letters and other short sections) have been through the peer review process. So they have passed a test for quality before they reach the reader.

Why is Peer Review important?

Peer Review is a way to ensure quality of writing and research. Without a Peer Review process, readers would have to spend a lot more time evaluating every part of an article to determine its quality. They would have to spend hours reading poorly written articles to get to the good ones. Peer review saves time for scholars and students so that they can focus on learning about the results of a research study. 

Learn more about Peer Review from the videos below! 

Accessibility Note: Closed captioning is included in these videos. The same information can be viewed via videos or slides. 

How do I find peer-reviewed articles?  [Video] [Slides]    Is this article peer-reviewed? [Video] [Slides]

Your Librarian

Sandy Dunphy's picture
Sandy Dunphy
Contact:
s.dunphy@northeastern.edu
617-373-5322

Citation management workshops

View recordings here of the spring and fall workshops--Endnote, RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, BibTEX and Introduction to Citation Management. See how citation management software can help your create your bibliography and keep track of your references in this 60 second video.

NEW: We have tutorials available that show shortcuts for exporting to EndNote (Instructions for Mac and for PC).

If We Don't Have Access to an Article You Need...

Request articles or books not available at NU through ILLiad our interlibrary loan service. Articles are delivered electronically.