Research Subject Guides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Get Started

Latin American and Caribbean Studies at Northeastern

Latin American and Caribbean Studies is part of the Department of Cultures, Societies, and Global Studies. The department provides an open and dynamic academic platform for interdisciplinary research and teaching on the transformative power of culture as an instrument for social change and innovation. We approach the challenges facing humanity through perspectives that are primarily, though not exclusively, informed by the experiences of the peoples from the Global South (Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, and Latin America) and its diasporas.

DATABASE TRIALS (opens in new window)
Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by taking this short evaluation form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

Starting your research and need some background information?

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition which covers concepts such as race relations, discrimination, race and urban planning.in detailed articles

Scholar OneSearch

Use Scholar One to search for books, articles, streaming video, streaming music, government publications, and more. To search only for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law
Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present.

Caribbean History & Culture, 1535-1920 (Readex/Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century.
Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia,
Early Caribbean Digital Archive (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of early colonial Caribbean texts, to uncover and make accessible a literary history of the Caribbean written or related by black, enslaved, Creole, indigenous, and/or colonized people.
Economist This link opens in a new window
Weekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
Edited in London since 1843, The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
Audio and apps are not included in Northeastern's subscription.
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
Original primary source documents relating to Empire Studies, including decolonization, from libraries and archives around the world. Diaries, images, letters, records.
View nature and scope information.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.Advanced search allows filtering by groups, such as Hispanic, Multi-ethnic or Native Peoples.
Includes the Bay State Banner, an independent newspaper primarily geared toward the interests of Boston's African-American community, and the Boston Irish Reporter.
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
Global news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest 2009 (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly signed and referenced articles on people and events in the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years.
Literature Resource Center (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Provides full text biographical and critical articles about literary authors, together with critical reactions to their works and bibliographies for further research.
Includes cross-search of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Excellent starting place, but not exhaustive.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information about 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
Forms the basis for the MLA Bibliography. Useful for finding a publishing venue for your work.
PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service offers abstracts of scholarship and professional literature from 1915 to present. International in scope, broad range of social science topics. Includes links to full text where available for Northeastern-owned books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many government publications.
Project Syndicate This link opens in a new window
A unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, Social Sciences Premium includes

Sociology Database
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
PAIS Index
Political Science Database
PolicyFile
Criminal Justice Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Library Science Database
Library & Information Science Abstracts
Education Database
ERIC
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics Database
Social Science Database
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

Latin American and Caribbean Studies : Get Started

Latin American and Caribbean Studies Librarian

Related Subject Guides include:

Biographical Sources

Latin American and Caribbean Studies at Northeastern

DATABASE TRIALS (opens in new window)
Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by taking this short evaluation form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

Latin American and Caribbean Studies : Get Started

Latin American and Caribbean Studies at Northeastern

DATABASE TRIALS (opens in new window) Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by taking this short evaluation form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

DATABASE TRIALS (opens in new window)
Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by taking this short evaluation form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.