Research Subject Guides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: For my research, I need . . .

For my research, I need . .

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Current and historic biographies with links to full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers. Search by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender. Some obituaries.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
58,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and overseas, and who died in or before 2008. Authoritative in-depth articles include likenesses and detailed lists of additional sources.

Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography by Franklin W. Knight (Editor-In-Chief); Henry Louis Gates (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0199935793
Publication Date: 2016

EIU Viewpoint and Country Reports (Economist Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new window
Contains Country Reports, Country Finance, and Country Commerce, plus special reports on current international issues. Updated continuously. Terms of service
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia with detailed entries covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Not limited to Europe! Frequently updated.
Includes the reference work, Africa: South of the Sahara
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
Global news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Brings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. The drop0-down menu for Reports includes a collection of Country and Region reports with demographic data.

What are primary sources?

Some examples of Primary Sources:

Audio recordings of a speech or oral history
Autobiographies, diaries, or letters
Certain government documents, such as congressional hearings or agency reports
Interviews
Journal articles which report first hand observations
Newspaper accounts of events
Photographs or moving images of an event
Records of an organization, often kept in Archives

Primary Source Collections include:

Afro-Americana Imprints (Readex/Newsbank) 1535-1922 This link opens in a new window
Created from the Library Company's Afro-Americana Collection which began with Benjamin Franklin. This online resource provides more than 12,000 printed books, pamphlets and broadsides, about the African American experience, Africa and the Caribbean, and including works by African American authors.
Boston Public Schools Desegregation Collection (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new window
This project was partially funded by the Boston Library Consortium.
Reports, correspondence, memorandum, newsletters, flyers, posters, legal proceedings, newspaper clippings, and photographs documenting the desegregation of the Boston Public Schools and its effect on students, parents, and communities.

Boston’s Latinx Community History

Over 41,000 records documenting two Latinx organizations, La Alianza Hispana and Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción, from 1965-2001 as well as additional context about each collection.
Early Caribbean Digital Archive (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new window

A digital archive of early colonial Caribbean texts, to uncover and make accessible a literary history of the Caribbean written or related by black, enslaved, Creole, indigenous, and/or colonized people.

Lower Roxbury Black History Project (Northeastern University)
From 2007-2009, with the assistance of her son, London Parker-McWhorter, photographer and documentary filmmaker Lolita Parker Jr spoke with over 40 residents of Roxbury to collect the audio, video, interviews and oral histories, scans, and photographs documenting the rich history of Boston’s Lower Roxbury community.

Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
Original primary source documents relating to Empire Studies, including decolonization, from libraries and archives around the world. Diaries, images, letters, records.
View nature and scope information.
Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 (World Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Over 50 online and full text historic newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Guyana, Peru, and Venezuela.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, Law This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Direct access available to current NU Community. All others, register for free access.

Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Sets

Create an account to access current digital editions of these newspapers--

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
London-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU Boston email address.

New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Northeastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device. Also available in Spanish and Chinese.

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Leading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. Also available in Chinese and Japanese. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva.
Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.

International Newspapers and Collections

Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Our largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
View a list of all sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Includes the Bay State Banner, an independent newspaper primarily geared toward the interests of Boston's African-American community, and the Boston Irish Reporter.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. This is a 90 day archive. PressReader can also be accessed via email registration. Go directly to the home page, click 'Sign In,' then 'Library or Group,' then select Northeastern University from the dropdown menu to create your account.
Project Syndicate This link opens in a new window
Subtitled, The World's Opinion Page Project Syndicate is unique source of opinion pages from around the world. Content is searchable and good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current event.
Washington Post
Washington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.

Latin American Weekly Report (LatinNews) -a leading source of political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1967.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online Premium provides video content to a broad range of subject areas, including documentaries and journalistic content on topics in business, politics, history, music, public health, education and more. Training videos are also available.

Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Documentary films for higher education
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A curated collection of films for the Northeastern community, including feature films as well as high-interest documentaries. You may use Scholar OneSearch to find out if Northeastern has a particular film. Closed captions and transcripts included. Films provided by HBO and Neon Films cannot be viewed outside of the U.S.

Latin American and Caribbean Studies : For my research, I need . . .

Latin American and Caribbean Studies Librarian

For my research, I need . .

What are primary sources?

Primary Source Collections include:

Create an account to access current digital editions of these newspapers--

International Newspapers and Collections

Open resource, or free, videos are online. Noteworthy collections include: