Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Home

A guide to print and online resources in anthropology

Research Tools

SAGE research methods button

Citation Management Workshops! 

Registration is now available for upcoming citation management workshops

The workshops cover skills in utilizing these tools: Endnote, RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley. There is also a general Introduction to Citation Management workshop to help you choose the best tool for you. These tools make it easier to create your bibliography and keep track of your references. 

 

Northeastern University Library Services and Resources in 2021

Types of study spaces at Snell Library

Collaboration and Study Spaces on Campus
 

Ask a Librarian for Research Help

Browzine

Scholar OneSearch

Scholar OneSearch button

 provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, e-resources, government publications, and more.

Local Northeastern collections and global resources may be discovered through Scholar OneSearch; many items available are available in full-text online.

There is another single search option at Google Scholar@NU

Additional Links

Archives and Special Collections, NU Libraries, collects historically significant records of the University, as well as Documenting Diversity of under-represented communities in Boston. Stop by during their operating hours, or contact them for an appointment.

 Department of Sociology and Anthropology, research centers other helpful links.

Key Resources

 

Multiple resources for research in Anthropology

Need some background information?

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition,  covers various aspects of anthropology and the social sciences.

CQ Researcher with in-depth, unbiased coverage of topics such as bullying, health care, death penalty, race and ethnicity.

DSM 5, the standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field, and helpful resource for description of disorders, behaviors, emerging assessment measure, cultural formation, etc.

PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to international and domestic policy papers and reports. Browse the links to organizations, or keyword search for reports, ranging from "Curbing Violence in Nigeria (II): The Boko Haram Insurgency" or "The Challenge of Credit Card Debt for the African American Middle Class. 

Need news articles? Check this list of historical and current news resources  available to you!

Need Country Information?

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)  with country analysis, risk analysis and industry analysisEconomist Intelligence Unit landing page with country search box and browse country list option

 

Europa World Plus 

description of Europa World Plus resource

Looking for Anthropology-specific research?

           AnthroSource button collection of publications from the AAA

 

          JSTOR button scholarly articles AND books!.
          Use Advanced Search to work with 127 anthropology journal titles. 

 

           ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global button
           Streamline your searching--use Advanced Search.  
Check Help Guide for search tips.           

What you can do with a degree in anthropology.

Check the AAA (American Anthropological Association) webpage with advice for students:  The captivating and curious careers of anthropology. 

Check ACE Anthropology Careers and Employment for opportunities
Anthropology Careers and Empoyment logo; the job board of the American Anthropological Association

Take a look at the webpage, From Co-op to Career

Here's an example of anthropological field work for a business! Click on the title to read the article.

"An Anthropologist Walks into a Bar" article button

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Christine Oka
Contact:
270 Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Research and Writing Support

Citation Guides

AAA now uses The Chicago Manual of Style . Link to the online version.

There also a Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide.

Looking for other citation styles? Check the Guide to Citations and Bibliographies