Latin American and Caribbean Studies at Northeastern
Latin American and Caribbean Studies is part of the Department of Cultures, Societies, and Global Studies. The department provides an open and dynamic academic platform for interdisciplinary research and teaching on the transformative power of culture as an instrument for social change and innovation. We approach the challenges facing humanity through perspectives that are primarily, though not exclusively, informed by the experiences of the peoples from the Global South (Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, and Latin America) and its diasporas.
Key Resources
Starting your research and need some background information?
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition which covers concepts such as race relations, discrimination, race and urban planning.in detailed articles
Use Scholar One to search for books, articles, streaming video, streaming music, government publications, and more. To search only for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
-
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Northeastern School of Law
Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present.
-
Caribbean History & Culture, 1535-1920 (Readex/Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowMore than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century.
-
Early Caribbean Digital Archive (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new windowA digital archive of early colonial Caribbean texts, to uncover and make accessible a literary history of the Caribbean written or related by black, enslaved, Creole, indigenous, and/or colonized people.
-
Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
-
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new windowOriginal primary source documents relating to Empire Studies, including decolonization, from libraries and archives around the world. Diaries, images, letters, records.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.Advanced search allows filtering by groups, such as Hispanic, Multi-ethnic or Native Peoples.
-
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
-
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest 2009 (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowScholarly signed and referenced articles on people and events in the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years.
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDetailed information about 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
-
PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowPublic Affairs Information Service offers abstracts of scholarship and professional literature from 1915 to present. International in scope, broad range of social science topics. Includes links to full text where available for Northeastern-owned books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many government publications.
-
Project Syndicate This link opens in a new windowA unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
-
Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
