Research Subject Guides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Maps, Stats & Data

Statista

Statista This link opens in a new window
Brings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Easy to use, exportable charts and data, recommended citations.

You will find more infographics at Statista.

Examples of how NOT to do data visualizations are available at WTF Visualizations

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Search opinion polls from all over the world, using this database from Cornell University. Poll results from news organizations, governments, private foundations, academic institutions, and more. The scope of topics spans politics, culture, workplaces, and social life. 1930s to the present.Contains the Latin American Databank. https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/latin-american-data-bank
To learn more, view Roper's video tutorials.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You must register for a myData account in order to access some reports.

Data.gov
The home of searchable open data from the U.S. government.
Bureau of the Census
Browse by Topic includes Race and links to international data.

Historical Atlas of the 20th Century
Eclectic collection, covering diverse topics.
Library of Congress Online Map Collection Excellent source for digital maps about cities, the environment, military history, transportation and other topics.
Maps of South America from the Nations Online Project.