Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Newspapers are an invaluable source for researching current and historical events and public opinion on a topic or a building. They are useful for following regional and local developments in architecture, the arts, urban planning, and public policy. Many full text newspaper articles are available online through databases and some will even include the published images or photographs.
New York Times (Nexis Uni)
Search for articles published in the NYT June 1, 1980 to the present. Text only. (via Lexis-Nexis).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Offers full-text coverage of national, regional, and international newspapers. Choose Advanced Options to limit your results to a specific publication or date range.
Boston Globe (1980-present) (Proquest)
Search for articles, reviews, editorials, and more published in the Boston Globe.
Provides online access to today's newspapers from countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices.
Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones/News Corp)
The Wall Street Journal provides news, information, commentary and analysis focused on business, finance, and political economy. Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva.
Use ProQuest Historical Newspapers to access the following publications:
Most ProQuest Historical Newspapers include images, photographs, and advertisements. You can view the full text of the article or select page view to view the article in its original layout.
Additional newspaper databases:
19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Cengage)
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Times Digital Archive (London) (Gale Cengage)
An online, full-text facsimile of Britain's the Times from 1785 to 2012. This historical newspaper archive allows you to search and view this newspaper in its original published context.
Websites for historical newspapers: