Why Newspapers?
Newspapers are a great resource for researching historical and current events. You can follow regional and local developments in architecture, the arts, urban planning, and public policy. You can also trace public opinion on a topic or a building. The Northeastern University Library subscribes to several newspaper databases and websites.
All Newspaper Databases
- A-Z News Database ListBrowse the list of all news and newspaper databases available through the library.
Current Newspapers
- Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to today's newspapers from countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices.
- Boston Globe (1980-present) (Proquest)Search for articles, reviews, editorials, and more published in the Boston Globe.
- Boston Herald (via Access World News) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from 1991 to the present.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowA weekly international news and business publication edited in London, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal provides news, information, commentary and analysis focused on business, finance, and political economy. Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
Historical Newspapers
- Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA curated selection of historical newspapers in facsimile and full text, including all titles in Historical Black Newspapers plus additional titles.
- Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper from Atlanta, GA, reflecting the voice of the Black American community.
- Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988 (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA newspaper published in Baltimore, Maryland that reflects the voice of its Black community.
- Boston Globe (1872-present) (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current access to the Boston Globe, one of two major daily newspapers in Boston. Link to the most recent issue.
- Chicago Defender: 1910 - 1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFully digitized African American newspaper Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
- Chicago Tribune (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe historical Chicago Tribune collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text. (1849-1988).
- Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005 (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA newspaper published in Los Angeles, CA, that reflects the voice of its Black community.
- New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowA weekly newspaper published in New York that reflects the voice of its Black community.
- Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowA newspaper published in Pittsburgh, PA that reflects the voice of its Black community.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
- Times of London Digital Archive (Gale Cengage) 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowAn online, full-text facsimile of Britain's the Times from 1785 to 1985. This historical newspaper archive allows you to search and view this newspaper in its original published context.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.