Key Resource: ARTstor
- ARTstorAn image database with high-quality images in the areas of art, architecture, photography, and the humanities and social sciences.
Finding Images Using the Avery Index
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowYou can search Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals to find articles that include plans, sections, drawings, or other images. Click on "Advanced Search" and then enter your search keywords or phrases. You could search by topic or by the name of a building or architect. Under the "Document Feature" options, select the appropriate filter and click "Search." This should return results for articles that include those specific types of images. Click on an article record in your search results to open the "Details" page. Click on the "Check for full text" button in the top right corner. This will run a check for that article in the library's print holdings and online subscriptions. You will then see options for accessing this article and its images.
Images at the Northeastern University Archives & Special Collections
The Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections are committed to documenting the history of Northeastern University and the history of Boston's social movements, including civil and political rights, immigrant rights, homelessness, and urban and environmental justice. The records document the history of Boston's African American, Chinese, LGBTQ, Latinx and other communities, as well as Boston's public infrastructure, neighborhoods, and natural environments.
Collections include:
Boston Image Resources
- City of Boston Archives: Online CollectionsIncludes photographs from the Landmarks Commission images collection and from Boston Redevelopment Authority projects. This site links out to the City of Boston Archives' Flickr page.
Cultural Heritage Platforms
- Digital Public Library of AmericaSearch by keyword across digitized photographs, drawings and more from many of America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in this centralized platform.
- EuropeanaSearch by keyword across digitized items from collections held in many European archives, libraries, and museums through this centralized platform.
Worldwide Image Resources
- ArchNet Digital LibraryFocuses on the built environment of Muslim societies.
- Architecture in Latin American (LANIC)From the University of Texas, Latin American Network Information Center.
- Built in AmericaHistorical American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey - These surveys documents American architectural, design, and engineering projects, 1933 to the present. The digitization of this project is ongoing with images added each month.
- SAH Archipedia Classic Buildings (Free version)This free resource from the Society of Architectural Historians offers authoritative information on over 1000 US buildings by location, architect, period and style, building type, materials, and more.
- Society of Architectural Historicans: Digital ResourcesCheck the Image Collections section.
- RIBApix: Database of ImagesFrom RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects). Image database covering world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts. Many of the images are also of social documentary importance.