Archives and primary sources
Archives and primary sources are invaluable to your research, whether that research is for a class or your own development as an architect and person. Examples of primary sources in the architectural field include plans, sections, and photographs that document space or buildings. Other examples include oral histories, letters, newsletters, diaries, and more that speak of people's experiences and memories of the built and unbuilt environment.
You might find primary sources published in books or journals, but you can also find them in digital or physical format through archives and special collections. This page outlines some ways to get started with your archival research.
The Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections
The Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections is committed to documenting the history of Northeastern University and the history of Boston’s social movements, including civil and political rights, immigrant rights, homelessness, and urban and environmental justice. The records document the history of Boston’s African American, Asian American, LGBTQA, Latinx and other communities, as well as Boston’s public infrastructure, neighborhoods, and natural environments.
The Archives and Special Collections is currently closed due to current renovations in Snell Library. Collections will be inaccessible and reference services will be limited to remote correspondence consulting digitized media during this time. Please email archives@northeastern.edu with any questions or requests.
In the meantime, please consult the Archives' digitized records in the Digital Repository Service.
Selected collections at the Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections
Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción records
This collection documents the organization's efforts to empower the residents of the Villa Victoria community by providing them with affordable housing and creating opportunities to have greater control over it. The records date from 1967 to 2004. Records cover several topics: urban renewal and housing rehabilitation, tenant associations, Puerto Rican social conditions, non-profit social service delivery, and community development.
- A statement of hope (1967)A mission statement for Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción's history and development.
- Digitized Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción (IBA) recordsSearch across and browse digitized items from the collection.
Chinese Progressive Association records
This collection documents the founding, growth, and development of the Chinese Progressive Association from its inception in 1977 to the early 2000s. The Association helped create the Coalition to Protect Parcel C, a group concerned about proposed land development in Chinatown in the 1990s. The Coalition files reflect the complexity of the project and its successful conclusion when the Parcel C land was granted back to Chinatown for a community center.
- Fliers, bulletins, and press releases relating to the Coalition to Protect Parcel C for Chinatown (circa 1993-1994)Includes fliers for a rally against Parcel C, notices detailing Chinatown community meetings, press releases to appear in local newsletters and newspapers, and fliers advertising a press conference.
- Digitized Chinese Progressive Association recordsSearch across and browse digitized items from the collection.
Select archives and archival collections beyond Northeastern
Frederick Law Olmsted
Jane Jacobs
Archives based in Boston and Massachusetts:
- The City of Boston ArchivesThe City of Boston Archives preserves and makes accessible the permanent and historical records of Boston city government.
- Aga Khan Documentation Center at MITA research center focused on the built environment of Muslim societies.
Finding archival primary sources
Get started with archival research and finding primary sources online:
- How do I find archival primary sources online? [recorded webinar]Think you can't use archival material just because you can't visit it? Learn some tips on how to access archival material beyond the reading room and the tools available for finding archives from the comfort of your home. Discover the resources available in the Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections and how they can help connect you to other Archives across the globe.
Search across archival collection descriptions to find archives on a particular topic, person, or organization:
- ArchiveGridA database of archival material descriptions, including WorldCat records and finding aids harvested from the web.
- ArchiveGrid Tutorial (Google Slides)An introduction to ArchiveGrid and how to make the most of it. Google Slide presentation format.
Search for digitized primary sources across Massachusetts and beyond using these platforms:
- Digital CommonwealthSearch across and browse digitized collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Massachusetts.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search across and browse images, texts, videos, and sounds from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States.
- EuropeanaSearch across and browse cultural heritage items from institutions across Europe.