Boston Architecture Books
Books contain narrative details of cities, buildings, and their design. They also include valuable illustrations, plans, photographs, details, sections, and more. Search Scholar OneSearch on the library homepage for books and e-books.
Here are some examples:
AIA Guide to BostonCall Number: Snell Library Stacks NA735.B7 S69 2008
Buildings and Landmarks of Old Boston: A Guide to the Colonial, Provincial, Federal, and Greek Revival Periods, 1630-1850Call Number: Snell Library Stacks NA735.B7 A53 2001
Buildings of Massachusetts: Metropolitan BostonCall Number: Snell Library Stacks NA735.B7 B85 2009
Built in BostonCall Number: Snell Library Stacks NA735.B7 S53 1999
The Makers of Trinity Church in the City of BostonCall Number: NA5235.B75 M35 2004
Images of Boston Architecture
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAn image database, including a digital library with high-quality, authoritative images in the areas of art, architecture, photography, and the humanities and social sciences.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsKeyword search for "Boston" or a specific building name.
- City of Boston Archives: Online CollectionsIncludes photographs from the Landmarks Commission images collection and from Boston Redevelopment Authority projects. This site links out to the City of Boston Archives' Flickr page.
Boston Architecture at NU Archives and Special Collections
The Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections Department houses and makes available primary source materials in both print and digital form. The Northeastern University Historical Collections include the records and publications of the University. The Special Collections preserve the history of Boston's social movements and community organizations, as well as Boston's public infrastructure, neighborhoods, and natural environments.
Explore collections related to:
- Housing justice
- Arts and Architecture
- Central Artery/Tunnel Project (Big Dig)
- Journalism (including the Boston Globe Library collection)