Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases on Rhetoric
CompPile, 1939 - current
"An inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies" -- this is a selective and focused bibliography compiled by academics in the field. Also includes listings to organizations, tools, and email lists.
In addition to the databases listed here, also see these specialty resources focused on rhetoric, composition, communication, and teaching.
Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Subject focus on Communication Studies that may be particularly useful to researchers in Rhetoric. Also very useful for those looking at issues in the production of television, newspapers, and other forms of mass media. Contains significant full-text.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Supported by the U.S. Dept. of Education, one of the largest education databases with citations to journals, books, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Find subjects like classroom management, evaluation methods, college curriculum, language usage, literacy, and more.
CCCC Bibliography of Composition and Rhetoric, 1984-1999
Focus on "works that treat written communication ... the processes whereby human beings compose and understand written messages, and methods of teaching people to communicate effectively in writing." Includes theory, testing, teaching materials, teacher education, social role, and more. You may need to see the print, as the website often seems to be down.
Bedford Bibliography for Teachers of Writing
Targeted list of some of the "core" books and studies on History and Theory; Composing, Literacy, and the Rhetorics of Writing; Curriculum Development; and Writing Programs. Supported by Bedford/St. Martin's.
Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, books, and conference papers with significant full text. Includes subjects like post-secondary teaching, testing and assessment, literacy, composition, and more.