General Product Information
This page is dedicated to resources that contain drug monographs. Some contain textbooks, others digital versions of former textbooks, and each has unique features.
UpToDate LexiDrug (formerly LexiComp)
- UpToDate LexiDrug (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new windowLexidrug provides concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV (intravenous) compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
Our license includes the below resources and more.
- AHFS Essentials (Adult and Pediatric)
- AHFS DI (Adult and Pediatric)
- Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation
The full list of databases included can be found at the link below.
Micromedex
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowEvidence based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine to support informed research. These products are intended solely for demonstration purposes, for the purpose of training students in the use of the Databases, and for clinical or emergency response services if the user is not compensated in any way for providing such services. The resources are to be used under the supervision of Northeastern’s teaching staff. These resources cannot be used for productive use within a hospital facility.
NEW Vendor: Merative, Restricted usage-for Academic Purposes
Micromedex searches multiple drug information databases and is a rich source of full-text tertiary literature.
Included in our institutional subscription is Martindale and Index Nominum
They can be found in the Tox & Drug Product Lookup section
- You can search Martindale Global Drug directly or
- See results after searching in Drug Lookup
Also included and listed in the header on the homepage are:
- Drug interactions
- IV compatibility
- Drug identification
- Drug Comparison
- CareNotes®, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer
- NeoFax/Pediatrics
- Tox & Drug Lookup
- RED BOOK(online)
as well as access to medical calculators and more Micromedex solutions.
Remember: Use is prohibited at clinical sites.
More drug monograph sources
The databases included here also include drug monographs along with other content.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- ClinicalKey (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowClinical overviews, e-books, drug classification overviews and patient education and guidelines.
- Facts & Comparisons Clinical eAnswers This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative and comprehensive drug information.
Complementary and Alternatives
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowHigh quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
Stahl's collection
- Stahl Online (Cambridge) This link opens in a new windowE-book platform including Stahl's Illustrated series, Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, Prescriber's Guide: Drug Interactions, and more.
- Case Studies
- Illustrated series
- Handbooks
- Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology
- Prescriber's Guide
- Many more titles to explore
Foreign/International Drugs
- Index Nominum : International Drug DirectoryNot licensed through NU
- international database for active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs), branded medicinal products, synonyms, and chemical structures. - European Medicines Agency(note European Drug Index - not found easily)
Consumer, Publicly Available Resources
These drug resources are made available to anyone with internet access. Always check resources About and sources to see where they get the content being provided. Is it a reputable with reviewers and transparent sources?
- drugs.comMission Statement
"To empower patients with the knowledge to better manage their own healthcare and to improve consumer safety by assisting in the reduction of medication errors." - DailyMedfrom NIH
contains labeling for prescription and nonprescription drugs for human and animal use, and for additional products such as medical gases, devices, ... - RxList.comOwned and Operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD network.