On this page you will find suggested databases through NU Libraries for finding literature related to pharmacy and health sciences.
If you don't find what you are looking for, we have many more and are always updating our resources.
- Find other databases at NU LibraryBrowse the full list of databases.
Options to choose grouping by subject or type.
Literature Resources
- PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
A note on Medline, MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains millions of references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Medline can be accessed through a variety of platforms including PubMed, EBSCOhost, Proquest and others.
Learn about MeSH
- Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)-Learn more about medical subject headings
-Identify subject terms and synonyms
- Embase (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowAn up-to-date biomedical research database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Structured and natural language searching.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to worldwide pharmaceutical literature, over 750 health journals, major pharmacy meetings, and all U.S. state pharmacy journals. Links to full text. This database is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Web of Science, All Databases This link opens in a new windowUse this link for access to citation tracking and subject searching of scholarly literature. Data visualizations, alerts, and journal impact factors. Includes the Web of Science Core Collection. One of the largest curated databases of scholarly research, with citations in some subjects from 1900 to the present.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to articles in life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. 1993 to present. Links to full text.
- SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n provides access to the worlds most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information, including millions of records and up-to-date patent and chemical information curated and aggregated by a global network of expert scientists. Links to patents and Northeastern-subscribed materials.
Publications by professional organizations
- AAPS OpenAmerican Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences Open Access Journal
- APhA-Transitions MagazineAmerican Pharmacists Association has many publications. Check the library catalog to see if we have a journal of book.
- NABP - ResourcesNational Association of Boards of Pharmacy makes past issues available online.
Pharmacogenomics focus: selected example resources
Ebooks
Pharmacovigilance for Herbal and Traditional Medicines by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783031072734Publication Date: 2022This remarkable new book is the first text dedicated to the topic of pharmacovigilance for herbal and traditional medicines. Taking a truly global perspective, this volume draws together contributions from a diverse group of experts, writing on current knowledge and practices in pharmacovigilance for herbal and traditional medicines, and on advances and innovation in monitoring the safety of this unique and complex category of products and preparations.
Precision Medicine Applied Concepts of Pharmacogenomics in Patients with Various Diseases and Polypharmacy by Call Number: Ebook-Open AccessISBN: 9783036510262Publication Date: 2022In Directory of Open Access Books
Journals
- Pharmacogenetics and genomicsPeer reviewed
- a unique and innovative journal that covers genetic variation in response to drugs and other chemicals in humans and animals. - The pharmacogenomics journalPeer reviewed
-a print and electronic journal, which is dedicated to the rapid publication of original research on pharmacogenomics and its clinical applications.
Website
- PharmGKB- a pharmacogenomics knowledge resource that encompasses clinical information including clinical guidelines and drug labels, potentially clinically actionable gene-drug associations and genotype-phenotype relationships.