Descriptive Transcript

When visual content is read or explained in audio, it is not reproduced in the visual column below.

Audio Visual
As you identify and gather statistics or data for your project, it's important to think about the credibility and authority of the materials you've selected.

In this tutorial, we'll briefly look at the difference between data and statistics and discuss what questions you can ask to determine the issues of credibility and authority. We'll wrap up with common pitfalls that occur with using data and statistics. Let's get started.

 How do I evaluate data and Statistics? title slide

First, let's quickly look at the difference between data and statistics. In this table comparing the two, We'll start with looking at what data is. Data is individual pieces of raw information that need to be processed. Data is usually presented in the form of raw information and numbers, and often requires specialized software to interpret. Statistics is the interpretation of this raw data and can be presented in the form of graphs, charts, or tables. Statistics also usually allows you to answer research questions with a few numbers. For a more in-depth look and understanding of data and statistics, please visit our research tutorial guides on the library website.

 Table comparing Data and Statistics as described in narration.

Now let's look at the question of credibility and authority. To start, ask yourself three questions. Who, how and why? Who collected the information you'll use in your research? Is the collector impartial or non-partisan? Has the information been gathered by an individual or an organization with a particular viewpoint or agenda? While this might feel like broad and difficult questions to answer, it is important to realize that while some data can be more impartial than other pieces of data, there is no such thing as non-biased information. Companies and organizations always gather data for specific reasons, but you can try to find information that gives context to your research and be critical of what you are researching.

  

Visit the organization or advocacy group's web page. Read its mission statement and find out who serves on the group's board of directors or other governing body. What affiliations do these members have? Are they associated with known entities like universities or government agencies?

 Screenshot of Brookings website. About us in the menu is highlighted

Library resources may also help. One resource suggested is the database PolicyFile. This database indexes studies and reports from think tanks and other policy groups. To get to the database. Click on the 'Databases' link on the library homepage.

 Databases highlighted on library website homepage.

Then either use the search bar at the top right, or click the letter 'P' to jump to the databases starting with that letter. Scroll down the page and you will see PolicyFile in alphabetical order.

 A-Z Databases list with search and alphabetical limiters highlighted. Shows Policy File in the A-Z Databases list.

Once you have signed into PolicyFile using your Northeastern username and password, click on the 'Advanced Search' link. Scroll down the page until you see the 'Organizational political leaning' filter. This allows you to filter reports by broad subject area and by organizational political leaning as you use the database.

Policy File Database landing page with Advanced Search link highlighted.

PolicyFiles limiters for Organization type and Organization political leaning are shown. Type includes development, Environmental, Finance & Economics, International, etc. Political leaning includes center-left, center-right, centrist, conservative and progressive.
How was the information collected? It's important to know about the methods used to conduct the survey, sample size, etc., These are details that will help you assess the project. Can you detect any biases in the selection of research participants? Was the survey conducted by phone?  
Information about survey methodology is frequently used in the notes associated with charts, tables and infographics. Sample bar chart with methodology information below graph highlighted.
Scholarly articles and research reports provide detailed descriptions of survey or study methodology and reference data sets or statistics used in the publication. In this article, the authors describe the measures they constructed to replicate interaction among senators. Sample article title and excerpt showing study methods.
Why was the information collected? Do the data collectors have a vested interest in a particular outcome? Are they trying to advocate for a particular policy? Is the data gathered as part of the process of governing, whether at the federal, state or local level? For example, federal government agencies collect census data, unemployment numbers, corporate tax returns or airline on-time flight data on an ongoing basis. Decorative icons and the logos for two government agencies that collect data: the US Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor statistics.
When working with data or statistics, it's important to be aware of common pitfalls. Statistics and data presented out of context are confusing and subject to misinterpretation. This infographic on the changing racial and ethnic profile of the U.S. uses a map to represent a concept that has nothing to do with geography. Changing face of America Infographic. The west coast of the United States map is labeled 1960. The middle of the country is labeled 2010, and the east coast is labeled 2060. Bands of color show percentage of the population based on racial categories where white decreased from 85% to 43% and Hispanic increased from less than 16% to 31%.

Another pitfall is to consider a small sample size or representation issues within the sample size. For example, data on the effectiveness of a new drug might have been based on a small sample size. This will not allow researchers to view or consider the full spectrum of possible side effects across different types of people with different lifestyles or genders.

  
Another common pitfall is the relationship between correlation and causation. For example, if a school buys tablets for all students and standardized test scores rise, it's tempting to think that tablets were the critical element. This may not be the case. Correlation does not equal causation icons

Need help? Have questions? Ask a librarian. Visit us at library.northeastern.edu/ask for additional help.

 Closing Slide: Ask a Librarian library.northeastern.edu/ask