Skip to main content

Nursing: Getting Started

A guide to online and print resources in nursing & nurse anesthesia.

Fall Citation Management Workshops! Register now!

Citation management tools allow you to Import your citations from databases, Google Scholar, websites, Organize your citations using folders and tags, and Autoformat bibliographies and in-text citations and insert into your papers using hundreds of different citation styles.

Schedule & register for Fall 2018 RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero workshops to make it easier to create your bibliography and keep track of your references.

Need Help Getting Started with your Research?

Articles in journals:  search CINAHL Complete, the most comprehensive database for articles covering all aspects of nursing, including articles written by nurses.
Looking for a specific journal?  search the E-journal Finder
Books & e-books: search in Scholar OneSearch
Encyclopedia articles: search Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

Key Databases

Featured Resources

 Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. 

New Research Resource



SAGE Research Methods is a library more than 1,000 e-books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journal articles and instructional videos to help you design your research project, develop a researchable question, learn about 8 steps to a successful literature review, and view tips for writing up your findings. For an overview of the research process, begin with the Project Planner! Learn how methods are related and view definitions using the Methods Map!

Check Sage's Research Basics pages for Health, Medicine and Nursing


SAGE Practice Data Analysis--master qualitative and quantitative data analysis through hands-on practice
Choose from over 150 datasets using data from real research, designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques.

DSM-5 Online

   The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.  The DSM-5 is part of the recently purchased package called PsychiatryOnline Premium.  Connect to DSM-5
View the PsychiatryOnline Tutorial  to learn more about searching across psychiatric journals, ebooks, practice guidelines and more.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine 
Features over 100 core medical e-books, videos by system & category, interactive review questions, clinical calculators, drug information, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
 
  Books: including the latest edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
   Quick Reference Tools

  • Practice Guidelines
  • Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment: evidence-based outlines of conditions/disorders most often encountered
  • Diagnostic Tests
  • Differential Diagnostic Tool:  Diagnosaurus
  • 2Minute Medicine: daily access to high-impact reports on the latest medical studies. Curated & written by practicing physicians and health professionals
  • English-Spanish Dictionary; calculator

   Drug Monographs
  
Dosing, indications, adverse reactions for 1,000+ generic & brand name drugs. Customizable, printable patient handouts
   Multimedia

  • Videos by category, system
  • Essential Radiology
  • Patient Safety Modules
  • Female Reproductive System Module
  • Pharmacology Lectures

   Cases
   A selection of cases from across the Case Files series.

  • Case Files in Basic Science & Clinical Medicine
  • Family Medicine Board Review
  • Resident Readiness: Internal Medicine
  • Acid-Base Disturbances

   Study Tools
  
Generate multiple choice quizzes from the e-book collection in AccessMedicine.

  • Review Questions
  • Flashcards
  • Play Showdown!

Create a free MyAccess profile! to take advantage of some of the features of the platform. This will work across the AccessMedicine, AccessPhysiotherapy and AccessPharmacy databases.

> bookmark your favorite content
> take quizzes
> use flashcards
> track your self-assessment progress
> use the mobile app
Here's how:
     1.  Connect to AccessMedicine. Click on "Northeastern University" in the upper right corner
     2.  Click on "Create a Free MyAccessProfile".
     3.  To activate your AccessMedicine app, visit the app store or Google Play.

The AccessMedicine App offers access to:

  • Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice – perfect for high-yield review or for quick reference in the clinical setting.
  • Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions, plus a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases. 
  • Differential Diagnosis Tool provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®, a McGraw-Hill Medical tool that efficiently allows you to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
  • Diagnostic Tests, from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, is a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.

Getting the AccessMedicine App:

1.  From a computer/laptop, access AccessMedicine from the library Databases A to Z list.
2.  Create a personal account and password.
3.  On your mobile device, download the AccessMedicine App from the App Store.
4.  On your mobile device, login to your My AccessMedicine App with your user name and password.

NOTE: To activate and for continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN.

 

Loading ...

Psychotherapy.net

Psychotherapy.net -- access 100+ high quality training videos in psychotherapy.  Watch master psychotherapists in action and hear leading experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.
Browse videos by:

  • Approach
  • Therapeutic issue
  • Expert
  • Population
    Transcripts are available for many videos, and are searchable and downloadable; subtitles are available for many videos; many videos come with downloadable instructor's manuals.
    NOTE: videos can be viewed on personal computers (Windows or Mac). Videos can be viewed on IPADs but the functionality of the video platform are not all fully supported. Videos cannot be viewed on non-OS mobile devices. The quality of the video is dependent on the speed of your Internet connection.

Your Librarian

Sandy Dunphy's picture
Sandy Dunphy
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5322