Key Resource for Research--a How-to Guide
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window An online collection of reference books, research manuals on HOW to do research, offering the best methods to use. Check the Project Planner check list below for explanations on the steps for completing your research project.
Check the Project Planner (Opens in new window) for a tutorial on each of the Research Stages:
- Overview (Opens in new window)
- Philosophy of Research (Opens in new window)
- Defining a Topic (Opens in new window)
- Reviewing the Literature (Opens in new window)
- Developing a Researchable Question (Opens in new window)
- Research Design (Opens in new window)
- Planning and Practicalities (Opens in new window)
- Research Ethics (Opens in new window)
- Data Collection (Opens in new window)
- Data Analysis and Interpretation (Opens in new window)
- Writing Up (Opens in new window)
- Dissemination (Opens in new window)
Dissemination could also include--with peer-review acceptance and your permission-- publication in the journal, NU Writing
Sage Research Methods Help Page (Opens in new window)
There are also Research Tutorials developed by the Northeastern University Library staff.
Sage Research Methods Help Page
There also are Research Tutorials developed by the Northeastern University Library staff, including
How do I develop a research question?
What's the difference between a Research Topic and a Research Question?
Your research topic may be COVID-19 and African Americans.
Search for information about these two topics for your literature review. Based on what you find, develop the research question-- What about COVID-19 and African Americans?
Sample Research question:
What are the cardiovascular effects of COVID-19 on African-American women, who often face adverse health and economic disparities? (This is an actual research project funded by the American Heart Association)
Help with parts of the research process
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Browse the list of almost 700 issues!
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy. Browse the list of 569 iddues.
- ScienceDirect Topic Pages -- NOT just science. Have a topic and need to get up to speed on it? You can log in through Northeastern University on the ScienceDirect Topic page login to access all content licensed by the Library. Register for an account if you want to save searches. BTW, this system does not search like Google---If you use quote marks to phrase search, such as "artificial intelligence" the system will not complete the search.
- What is an annotated bibliography? [opens a window for PDF]
- And a NOTE: Please check the assignment requirements--what type of annotation is needed? Sometimes you are asked to write an abstract, other times you may be asked to explain WHY you are including this citation in your annotated bibliography. You want to meet your assignment requirements for annotation.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab provides Annotated Bibliography Samples in MLA, APA and Chicago Manual of Style
Need peer-reviewed journal articles?
- Find and Filter your results in Scholar OneSearch (opens in new window) for peer-reviewed journal articles
Many databases provide the filter option, such as
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields. The Peer Reviewed Journals filter on the left side of the results screen.
Checking for a peer-reviewed journal:
- Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new windowLists all journals, print and electronic, with publisher information, subscription prices, subject descriptions, web locations, and much more.
- Tutorial: This video tutorial shows how to use Ulrich's to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed. (or see the PDF/slide version)
Is there a list of peer-reviewed journals in my subject?
- BrowZine Web Edition This link opens in a new windowBrowZine is software that allows you to browse, read, and monitor many of the library's scholarly journals in a format optimized for your iOS or Android device.You can search for a journal title, or browse through a list of peer-reviewed journals in your research area.
Key Resources
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
For any topic that might be the subject of debate, Opposing Viewpoints summarizes different viewpoints and presents journalistic, primary source, and academic sources. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. The homepage has an OPINION section. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva. Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
"ProCon.org is an independent, nonpartisan, 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity. We promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship
by presenting research on controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format. Our websites are free, unbiased,
by presenting research on controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format. Our websites are free, unbiased,
and updated periodically."
- Both Sides of the Issue is a collection of videos presenting different sides of an issue. Sponsored by Center for Independent Thought, an IRS 501(c)(3) tax-exempt non-profit educational foundation, funded entirely by private donations.
Frequently Used Style Guides
-
APA (American Psychological Association)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: the official guide to APA style (print; ask at the Snell Library Help & Information Desk)
- APA Style Blog
-
MLA (Modern Language Association)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
- MLA handbook (print; ask at the Snell Library Help & Information Desk)
-
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- IEEE Reference Guide (PDF)
- IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors (PDF)
- The IEEE guide to writing in the engineering and technical fields (e-book; NU login required)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
-
Harvard
- Harvard Format Citation Guide from Mendeley
- Note: there is no "official" version of the Harvard citation style. Harvard University does not use this style, nor does it offer guidance on its use. Institutions that use "Harvard" style often have institution-specific requirements. Students at NCH London are directed to use the instructions on the Mendeley webpage linked above. For more guidance, please refer back to your assignment or your instructor.
- Harvard Format Citation Guide from Mendeley
-
AMA (American Medical Association)
- AMA Manual of Style (electronic resource; NU login required)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
-
Chicago
- The Chicago manual of style (e-book; NU login required)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
-
ASA (American Sociological Association)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
- American Sociological Association style guide (print; ask at the Help & Information desk)
-
Turabian
- Turabian: a manual for writers (e-book; NU login required)
Newspapers can provide current information on technology, economics, international news and social issues.
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Northeastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device. Digital editions in Chinese and Spanish.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required. Digital edition available in Chinese and Japanese.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
- Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
For a comprehensive list of News & Newspaper Sources, check the A-Z Databases list
Need research help?
- Chat with a librarian 24/7!
- Drop in at the research help desk in the lobby of Snell Library: 11am-3pm, weekdays.
- Email the library. Please allow at least one business day for a response.
- Call us (617) 373-2356
- Contact your Subject librarian for in-depth research support
Need help with your writing?
Need technical support?
- The IT Service Desk is available to help 24/7/365 at 617.373.HELP [4357] or help@northeastern.edu.
-
The Tech Support Portal is where you can submit service requests, browse the knowledge base, report issues, and more—all in one place.