Written content on a narrow subject and published in a periodical or website. In some contexts, academics may use article as a shortened form of journal article.
A detailed list of resources cited in an article, book, or other publication. Also called a List of References.
Call Number
A label of letters and/or numbers that tell you where the resource can be found in the library. Call numbers are displayed on print books and physical resources and correspond with a topic or subject area.
Peer Review
Well-regarded review process used by some academic journals. Relevant experts review articles for quality and originality before publication. Articles reviewed using this process are called peer reviewed articles. Less often, these articles are called refereed articles.
Limiter
A search setting that removes search results based on source attributes. Limiters vary by database but often include publication date, material type, and language. Also called: filter or facet.
Dissertation
A paper written to fulfill requirements for a degree containing original research on a narrow topic. Also called a thesis.
Database
A searchable collection of similar items. Library databases include resources for research. Examples include: a newspaper database, such as Access World News, or a humanities scholarly journal database, such as JSTOR.
Scholarly Source
A book or article written by academic researchers and published by an academic press or journal. Scholarly sources contain original research and commentary.
Scholarly articles are published in journals focused on a field of study. also called academic articles.
Scholarly books are in-depth investigations of a topic. They are often written by a single author or group. Alternatively in anthologies, chapters are contributed by different authors.
Contemporary Black American cinema: race, gender and sexuality at the movies by Publication Date: 2012
Feminism and film by Publication Date: 2000
Feminist film theory: a reader by Publication Date: 1999
Ghost Faces:Hollywood and post-millenial masculinity by Publication Date: 2016
Looking for the other : feminism, film, and the imperial gaze by Publication Date: 1997
Manhood in Hollywood from Bush to Bush by Publication Date: 2009
Neo-feminist cinema: girly films, chick flicks and consumer culture by Publication Date: 2011
Feeling normal: sexuality and media criticism in the digital age by Publication Date: 2016
French and Spanish queer film: audiences, communities and cultural exchange by Publication Date: 2016
No straight lines : four decades of queer comics by Publication Date: 2012
Queer art of failure by Publication Date: 2011
Queer cinema in America: an encyclopedia of LGBTQ films, characters, and stories by Publication Date: 2019
Queer images : a history of gay and lesbian film in America by Publication Date: 2006
Reel to Real: race, sex and class at the movies by Publication Date: 1996