On this guide
This guide is here for you to find resources related to health science topics but is more specifically put together for the Northeastern University Health Sciences program (Boston and Oakland).
This guide will contain resources and content (core databases, journals and texts) that are commonly used in all of the disciplines.
This page highlights a few key databases, additional databases are listed on the page Find articles, literature..
Given that each student in the health sciences program may be pursuing other health professions, additional research guides for specific areas are listed below. Each delves deeper into subject specific content and may have a different library liaison listed. You can still reach out to one of us for help.
Additional subject guides of possible interest:
Health Sciences major is also for students seeking a strong foundation for a career in health administration. The Business Administration Research Guide might be useful.
- Business AdministrationLibrary Guide
For your on campus resources, such as print books, please refer to your library homepage.
Key Sciences Resources
- SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n provides access to the worlds most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information, including millions of records and up-to-date patent and chemical information curated and aggregated by a global network of expert scientists. Links to patents and Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- BioCycOver 20,000 pathway/genome databases (PGDBs). BioCyc encyclopedias integrate a diverse range of data and provide a high level of curation for important microbes. Data can be downloaded and queried, and Pathway Tools can be installed to create your own local database. View more information about this resource.
Key Health (Medical) Sciences Resources
Highlighted here are 3 of the "Best Bet" databases for publications on health related topics. Public Health covers a broad range of subjects which means that beyond these resources there may be a need to look at other subjects and disciplines. Additional recommendations for other areas can be found on the Find articles page.
- PubMed (NU customized)A core database for medical and life sciences literature. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed searches Medline (the main article content provider) and links to additional databases such as PubMed Central (PMC) for archived articles, Bookshelf and others from NLM.This link connects PubMed to NU subscriptions for full text articles.
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Covers nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, going as far back as 1937. Links to PDFs or full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Tips on searching for literature
Research takes time and can be challenging for everyone. Searching a library database also requires different skills than using a search engine. There are strategies that can help and we've prepared other guides and tutorials for you.
Here are some quick tips with links to more in-depth guides.
- Use quotes, truncation, etcPut quotations around a set of words to find "those exact words" in that exact order. Other commands vary by database, we can help you learn them.
- Journal FinderIf you know of a specific journal that publishes on your topic, you can explore search it directly. Find the journal through Journal Finder on the library website.
- How do I find peer reviewed articles?Tips on finding peer reviewed articles.
- Research basicsStill not sure where to start? Start here! Learn to choose a research topic, develop a research question, and search for articles.