Skip to main content

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Physical Therapy, Movement & Rehabilitation Sciences: Start Here!

A guide to library resources and research in physical therapy, rehabilititation, sports physical therapy, occupational ergonomics and health

Welcome Physical Therapy Students!

Learn about the NU Library website and resources for physical therapy research!

Key Resources: Databases for Physical Therapy Research

PubMed (NU customized to access full text)
CINAHL Complete

Indexing and abstracts for 5,500 journals in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, including physical therapy and rehabilitation from 1937 to the present.
SPORTDiscus

Comprehensive, authoritative source of literature for journals covering sports medicine, physical therapy, kinesiology, exercise science, orthopedics, nutrition, physical education. Includes 670+ full-text journals; conference proceedings. 1930 to the present.
AccessPhysiotherapy

Access to 38 core physical therapy texts, procedure and exercise videos to teach exercise and rehabilitation techniques and interventions. Includes self-assessment tools consisting of multiple-choice quizzes from textbooks, 1100 interactive self-assessment questions to help prepare for the NPTE exam, a unique cadaver dissection tool, cases, and concise outlines of common conditions and disorders using Quick Answers.
F.A. Davis PT Collection
Collection of 29 top F.A. Davis physical therapy e-books, fully searchable and continuously updated. Includes physical therapy cases to help apply real-life scenarios and patient-therapist interaction. 400 videos on exercise and rehabilitation techniques, physical therapy interventions and kinetics. Create a MyAccess account to access review questions.
Pedro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Freely accessible database of 40,000+ randomized trials, systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines.
Web of Science
Citations and abstracts from scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions also included. One of the most comprehensive databases of academic research.
Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline. Advanced searching offers the ability to search by institutional affiliation or funding agency, to see who is working in, and funding, similar areas of research to your own.
Embase 
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day with more than 32+ million records from 8,200 journals and ‘grey literature’ from over 2.4 million conference abstracts. Embase includes unique non-English content and coverage of the most important types of evidence, such as randomized controlled trials, controlled clinical trials, Cochrane reviews and meta-analyses.

For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources! Please note: Use of databases from off-campus requires logging in with your myNortheastern account user name and password.

Guide to Physical Therapist Practice

Clinical Tools

 Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. 

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination--New!

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination offers more than 8 hours of video content providing head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Includes OSCE Clinical Skills interactive videos which allow viewers to observe and participate in the clinical encounter.

Bates' User Guide

Bates' Visual Guide Video URLs

Browzine

Expanded Access to Resources During COVID-19

Publishers have made the following resources available to the NU community temporarily. Northeastern University credentials are required for access.

COVID-19 Key Websites

DSM-5 Online

DSM 5 book cover

   The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.  The DSM-5 is part of the recently purchased package called PsychiatryOnline Premium.  Connect to DSM-5