On this guide
Welcome!
This guide is here to help you find the resources available to you through NU Library as well as free and web-based resources relevant to you public health research. The page you are on now, contains key resources to get started.
Please explore the other tabs/pages for more. Edits and updates will occur throughout the year, so be sure to check back.
Additional recommendations are welcome too.
Key Databases for Public Health Research
Highlighted here are 3 of the "Best Bet" databases for publications on health related topics. Public Health covers a broad range of subjects which means that beyond these resources there may be a need to look at other subjects and disciplines. Additional recommendations can be found on the literature, articles page. There is even more in our A to Z database list!
- PubMed (NU customized)A comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
- Public Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCore public health literature with access to 500 full-text publications and 9,000 dissertations as well as research reports and newspaper articles.
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Covers nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, going as far back as 1937. Links to PDFs or full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Hot Topics
Gun Violence is a public health issue.
Resources highlighted related to gun violence in the U.S.
- Addressing Gun ViolenceFrom Project MUSE- A list of resources available
- Public Health Approach to Gun Violence PreventionThe Educational Fund to Stop Gun Violence (Ed Fund) is a 501(c)(3) affiliate organization of the Coalition to Stop Gun Violence. We use a public health and equity lens to identify and implement evidence-based policy solutions and programs to reduce gun violence in all its forms. We seek to make gun violence rare and abnormal.
- Gun Violence (APHA)American Public Health Association page - recorded webinars, action ideas, initiatives
Substance Use Disorder
- Social Determinants of Health and County PopulationStatistical Brief #260, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUP)
Health Summaries
- Congressional District Health DashboardFind your district within your state to get summaries of health data, such as air pollution or binge drinking.
Research Methods and Guidance
Need tools or guidance for research? This resource includes interviews, videos, books to learn about qualitative vs quantitative methods, research funding, Tools include project planners and how to decide which stats test to use.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of information for beginning and advanced researchers looking for the best methods to use in their research. Full access to Books & Reference, Cases Part 1, Datasets Part 1, and Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills.