Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant: Start Here!

A guide to physician assistant library resources and research

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to pull together Library resourcesdatabases, ebooks, tutorialsand external websites which are relevant to students in the physician assistant program.

This homepage contains key databases, announcements of new Library resources, and links to relevant Library services.

The tabs across the top link to additional pages on topics including database searching tutorials and information on citation management tools such as EndNote, among others.

Key Databases for Medical Research

The databases listed below are key databases for medical literature. You can find a more comprehensive list of medical and health science databases on the page here.

Clinical Resources

The following resources are an abbreviated list; you can find a more complete list of clinical resources, including those on diagnosis, drug information, physical examination, as well as clinical guidelines, on this page.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination offers more than 8 hours of video content providing head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Includes OSCE Clinical Skills interactive videos which allow viewers to observe and participate in the clinical encounter.

Bates' User Guide

Bates' Visual Guide Video URLs

COVID-19 Key Websites

UpToDate

Northeastern University Library is thrilled to announce that we now provide access to UpToDate, the preeminent point-of-care tool. UpToDate is an evidence-based expert-authored resource which addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review and synthesize the existing literature into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy.

Access to UpToDate requires registration with a Northeastern email address, as well as accessing via the links on the Library’s website, such as the A-Z Database list.

PA Exam Prep

PA Exam Prep features more than 1,800 targeted exam-style practice questions written and reviewed by physician assistant experts; individualized skills reports with detailed explanations; and customizable practice exams, based on test mode, organ system, task area, core rotation and difficulty. PA Exam Prep covers all content areas (organ system and task area category) listed in the latest PANCE blueprint, including the new “Professional Practice” category, and a full-length 300-question PANCE mock examination mapped to the latest PANCE blueprint in terms of content and category weight. PA Exam Prep allows for custom quiz creation, progress tracking, mobile access, and learning at your own pace.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Philip Espinola Coombs
He / him / his
Contact:
p.coombs@northeastern.edu

Browzine