Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces you to library services and resources relating to the Doctor of Medical Science program. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to navigate to all pages. If you have any questions or suggestions, please reach out.
Key Resources: Databases for Medical Research
Northeastern University Library is thrilled to announce that we now provide access to UpToDate, the preeminent point-of-care tool. UpToDate is an evidence-based expert-authored resource which addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review and synthesize the existing literature into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy.
Access to UpToDate requires registration with a Northeastern email address, as well as accessing via the links on the Library’s website, such as the A-Z Database list.
Additional Specialized Databases
When you are searching for interdisciplinary or cross-disciplinary research, it may be necessary to go beyond the health sciences specific databases you are familiar with. Below, you can find databases which focus on other disciplines which may be relevant to the DMSc program.
Related Research Guides include: Business and Economics.
Business Source Complete
Useful for materials on globalization and development.
Useful for political economy, public finance, and budgetary policy as well as materials on development and globalization.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Includes the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Applied Social Sciences Abstracts and Index, and a number of full-text journal collections. Resources may be searched individually or as a group.
Includes a number of peer-reviewed articles in both business and economics.
Scholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
Related Research Guides include Legal Research, Federal Government, and specialized subject guides from the NU School of Law Library.
Please note that a number of Law Library databases, including Westlaw and Lexis/Nexis are available only to Law School affiliates.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a legal database with federal and state cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary supporting sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia, and law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
HeinOnline (courtesy of the Law Library)
Rich historical collections of legal materials and government publications, U.S. and international. Also, contemporary materials.
The JSTOR scholarly article archive contains over 130 law journals. Like HeinOnline, useful for some classic law articles.