Current News (NU only)
The Boston Public Library provides access to several national and international newspapers and news databases, including the Boston Globe and Boston Herald online. You'll need a BPL card (available to anyone who lives, works or attends school in Massachusetts) in order to access these materials.
The San Francisco Public Library provides access to national and international newspapers and news databases, including the San Fransisco Chronicle. You will need a SFPL card (available to any resident of California) in order to access these materials digitally, or you can physically go to the Magazine and Newspaper Center on the fifth floor of the main SFPL library, right by Civic Center Bart.
For additional current newspaper subscriptions at Northeastern, see this page.
= you will need a current Northeastern login or email address for this service.
Below are newspapers and news databases available at the Northeastern Libraries. It is not comprehensive, so always use Scholar OneSearch for the most complete and up-to-date information about subscriptions.
To search thousands of news sources at once, use one of the following:
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional/trade publications, broad in scope, including STEM fields. About half the results are peer-reviewed. The search interface allows you to limit your results to "opinion" or "editorial" in the document type dropdown. Use this link if you want to include video clips (Opens in new window) from the Associated Press in your search results.
- Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowMore of an app than a database, PressReader makes it easy to read today's news on a laptop, tablet, or phone. Papers from over 100 countries in over 60 languages are available in a 90 day archive. PressReader can also be accessed via email registration. Go directly to the home page, click 'Sign In,' then 'Library or Group,' then select Northeastern University from the dropdown menu to create your account. Once you have an account, download the app for an on-the-go reading experience.
- Proquest Newsstreams (U.S., Canada, International) This link opens in a new windowLocal, regional and global newspapers, newswires, and online news and opinion sites. Generally text only. For opinion and editorial content, use the filters in your results to select "commentary", "editorial" or "editorial cartoon", or "letters".
For an individual newspaper, below is a list of frequently-requested titles. If you don't see what you need here, use Scholar OneSearch on the library home page for the most comprehensive information.
- Atlantic Monthly (text-only via Factiva)This link offers online access to a text version of the Atlantic Monthly magazine from 2010 to the present. Notably includes online-only content such as newsletters, usually within one day of posting. For different dates and print versions, see full library access options in Scholar OneSearch
- Boston Business Journal This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library
Boston business news, research, and events. Registration with an @northeastern.edu email address is required. Once registered, users can sign in directly on the Boston Business Journal site. - Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowAn independent newspaper and website, with articles, special reports, data, and career opportunities in higher education, especially in the United States.
- E&E News (Politico Pro) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news on energy and the environment. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, GreenWire, E&E Daily, and E&E News.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
- MideastWire This link opens in a new windowA daily country-by-country summary and translation of news from around the Miiddle East region. Covers news sources from all 22 Arab countries, plus Iran and the Arab diaspora, including key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces.
- New York Review of Books, NYRB This link opens in a new windowThe New York Review of Books is a semi-monthly magazine with articles on literature, culture, economics, science and current affairs.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.