Research Subject Guides: Civil & Environmental Engineering : Get Started

Key Resources

Need a book/e-book, video, periodical, or other type of material available at Northeastern libraries?

Start with Scholar OneSearch -- One-stop searching for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media and more. Search local Northeastern collections and global resources - many items available full text online.

Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
Primarily e-books, especially handbooks and scientific and engineering reference manuals and data.
View a Quick Start Guide.
or certain properties there are specific chemical equations and digital graphs. Analyze data, sort, filter and export from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'What If' experiments.

Download: Some book chapters and sections are in PDF and may be downloaded.

Printing: Some book chapters and sections are in PDF and may be printed.

Mobile: An app is available for reading offline on a mobile device or tablet. Learn more and download

Need articles?

Begin your search with these databases:

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combines the citations and full text links of Compendex and Inspec with full text books from Knovel, for a more comprehensive search on computer science and engineering topics.
Coverage: 1969 to present, including some older backfiles, and new articles in press from over 1,000 journals.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Select full text peer-reviewed journals, e-books, standards, and proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new window
Use for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. Links to full text.
Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index
Book Citation Index (2005-present)
Conference Citation Index
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Current Chemical Reactions Index
Index Chemicus
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource containing nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references with library links for more than 200 additional titles
A free version of this resource is also available.
ScienceDirect: Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Selected scholarly journals in full text from Elsevier publishers

TRID (Open Access)
[Transportation Research] TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide. Replaces TRIS.
more...less...
An integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Looking for Technical Reports?

Technical Reports Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.

You can also browse TRAIL's collections by series using these TRAIL guides.

Anti-Racism in Engineering

This list of resources and organizations is intended to support the College of Engineering's work to support diversity, inclusion, equity and justice in our communities and practices. The list is not comprehensive, and the resources inevitably reflect the biases of the various creators. They are intended to provide a starting point to explore the wide variety of resources within the Engineering and STEM communities. This page will be continuously updated and feedback is welcome! If you're looking for more resources or for something different, please reach out to Jodi Bolognese at j.bolognese@northeastern.edu.

For more anti-racism resources in Engineering, please check out the full Diversity and Anti-racism in Engineering page.

For more anti-racism resources in STEM, please check out our Diversity and Anti-Racism in STEM page.

For more anti-racism resources and ways to get involved at Northeastern and beyond, please check out our Anti-Racism guide.

10 simple rules for building an antiracist lab (opens in a new window)
An article written by Dr. V. Bala Chaudhary and Dr. Asmeret Asefaw Berhe published in PLoS Computational Biology in October 2020.
ASEE: Shared Community Resources on Anti-Racism
American Society of Engineering Educators (ASEE) convened a group of panelists, from K-12 to higher education, to discuss and share resources that can help engineering educators tackle racism in their classrooms and institutions.
Black in Engineering
Black in Engineering was founded in 2020 and is focused on convening the Black engineering community in social justice efforts. This site includes a call to action that lays out principles and recommendations for creating an anti-racist university culture, a 'Black Engineering Faculty Speak' video, and an extensive list of resources for further exploration into social justice work and perspectives.
College of Engineering: Diversity and Inclusion
Engineering Change Podcast
Engineering Change is a podcast designed to help redefine the engineering education experience as we know it by re-imaging who we see as engineers and what we see as engineering, de-siloing academic programs and problem solving, and fine-tuning academic culture and climate using best practices for diversity, equity, and inclusion so people from all backgrounds can succeed. Hosted by engineering educator of color Dr. Yvette E. Pearson.

Engineering and Social Justice by Donna Riley
Utilizing techniques from radical pedagogies of liberation and other movements for social justice, this book presents a roadmap for engineers to become empowered and engage one another in a process of learning and action for social justice and peace.

National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering (NACME)
In pursuit of their vision for "an engineering workforce that looks like America", NACME is the largest provider of college scholarships for underrepresented minorities pursuing degrees at schools of engineering.
National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE): A Call for Justice
A call to action from NSBE, whose long-time mission is "to increase the number of culturally responsible Black Engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community." This site includes a series of town halls and social justice resources compiled by NSBE leaders.
Why Should I Care About Diversity in Engineering?
A group of National Society of Professor Engineers (NSPE) members respond to FAQS about diversity in the profession. Published in July/August 2020.

Ask Your Librarian

Jodi Bolognese

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

270 Snell Library

617-373-2806

Subjects: Engineering

Quick Links

Need some help coping?

Stressed and worried? There's help available:

Find @ Northeastern-- 24/7 mental health support for full-time students
Crisis Textline
Veterans Crisis Line
Student Mental Health Guide--Boston Campus
Faculty Guide -- Supporting Student Mental Health
Staff Guide--Supporting Student Mental Health

Full list of resources, including guides for the global university system.

Need a quick refresh on your research skills?

The library has many more research tutorials on common research questions and skills. To see what else is available, visit the library's Research Tutorials page.

Civil & Environmental Engineering : Get Started