Research Subject Guides: Civil & Environmental Engineering : Find Articles

Databases for Civil and Environmental Engineering

For a comprehensive literature search, start by searching these two databases:

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive tool for locating articles of interest across in civil engineering. Access full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings. Approximately 4,000 new papers added each year. Search the whole library, Journals, ebooks, standards or proceedings only. Includes ASCE Collections on Special Topics!
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combines the citations and full text links of Compendex and Inspec with full text books from Knovel, for a more comprehensive search on computer science and engineering topics.
Coverage: 1969 to present, including some older backfiles, and new articles in press from over 1,000 journals.

The resources listed below are good sources for information on civil and environmental engineering topics in academic journals, online reference books, magazines, newspapers and websites.

Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)
Access to all the publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
more...less...
Covers documents published since 1975 including all journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines and newsletters.
BuildingGreen
BuildingGreen provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials, shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field, and builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
EPA - United States Environmental Protection Agency

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Note: Not affiliated with NU? Choose the open access version of GreenFILE Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource for anyone concerned about our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles, and also searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.
A free version of this resource is also available.

PFAS-Tox Database
Managed by Northeastern Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Julia Varshavsky, this database includes over 1000 different studies examining the effects of PFAS on health outcomes.
TRID (Open Access)
[Transportation Research] TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide. Replaces TRIS.
more...less...
An integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Transportation Research Board Publications (Open Access)
Books, reports, and miscellaneous publications of the Transportation Research Board.
more...less...
The books, reports, and miscellaneous publications of the Transportation Research Board cover nine general subject categories: planning, administration, and environment; design; materials, construction, and maintenance; operations and safety; aviation; public transit; rail; freight transportation (multimodal); and marine transportation.

ScienceDirect: Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
Selected scholarly journals in full text from Elsevier publishers
Scitation Publications This link opens in a new window
100 journals from AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies. Scitation now includes SpinWeb.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,000 peer-reviewed titles covering all academic subjects. A quick way to find full-text articles - not as comprehensive as ASCE Research Library or Compendex.

Other relevant databases ...

Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes scholarly articles, books and book chapters, meetings and conferences, patents . 1969-present, updated weekly.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles in life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. 1993 to present. Links to full text.
All Biosis Previews journals are indexed in Biosis Citation Index. However, Biosis Citation Index has additional citation data and is therefore more comprehensive than Biosis Previews.

Biosis Citation Index also has cited references captured back to 2006 for all Biosis Citation Index-indexed titles and cited references captured back to 1926 for Web of Science overlap journals.

Featured Resource: JoVE, The Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
Journals, but formatted with video, combining high-quality video demonstrations of experiments with detailed text protocols. All content is peer-reviewed and indexed in biomedical databases. Northeastern University has access to all JoVE Video Journals and Science Education subjects.

Find the latest JoVE videos in Engineering (opens in a new window) here. JoVE articles are indexed in SciFinder-n (opens in a new window).

If we don't have it

Try Interlibrary Loan to request books or articles not available at NU.

Civil & Environmental Engineering : Find Articles

Databases for Civil and Environmental Engineering

Other relevant databases ...

Featured Resource: JoVE, The Journal of Visualized Experiments

If we don't have it

Quick Links