Video's created by Carter Horiye, Entrepreneurship Coop
Key Resources
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowEconomic, demographic, and market data on thousands of industries worldwide.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new windowPitchBook delivers data and research covering private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions. PLEASE NOTE: Separate registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address is required. See where to register.Accounts must be re-registered each calendar year.
Download limit: 10 downloads a day/25 downloads a month, per user. - MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new windowCompany, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. Includes company SWOTs, company overviews, industry profiles, market research, case studies, financial deals, country analysis, news and statistics.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowData on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets
- Mergent OnlineFinancial information for publicly traded companies. Create custom peer analysis reports and more.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information, the majority in full text. Some video.
- Value Line Investment Survey (Standard and Poor's) This link opens in a new windowEquity research reports -
Data and performance analysis of approximately 8,000 stocks, 15,000 mutual funds, and 80,000 options and other securities. Company reports, analysis, industry benchmarking and comparisons. Data charts and exporting available. - Factiva This link opens in a new windowJointly funded by the University Libraries and the DAmore-McKim School of Business
Includes access to text-only versions of Barron's, the Wall Street Journal, and hundreds of other international newspapers. Factiva is to be used for academic research. Using the content for analytics or text mining is prohibited. Access is limited to 5 users at a time. - NetAdvantage (S&P Global) This link opens in a new windowReady access to S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.
Popular Journals
Publisher Access
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address.
- Bloomberg.comBloomberg.com provides news and media content. It includes Bloomberg news articles, live streaming of Bloomberg TV, radio, podcasts, and narrated articles, and subscriber-only content and newsletters. Account creation with a Northeastern email address is required for this resource.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window Northeastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
- AtlanticThe Atlantic covers a broad range of topics including politics, society, the arts, and culture. The site includes content from 1857 to the present and includes audio, video and podcast extras.
3rd Party Access
- Harvard Business Review via EBSCOhostIndexed through EBSCOhost
coverage from 1922 - The Guardian via Access World NewsIndexed through Access World News
coverage from 1988 - The New Yorker via ProquestIndexed via Proquest
coverage from 11/4/02
Case Studies
- Harvard Business School Case Studies (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 2,000 Harvard Business School case studies.
- Harvard Business School Core Curriculum (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCore Curriculum consists of 76 readings authored by faculty at Harvard Business School that cover the concepts, theories, and frameworks essential for business studies, including finance, accounting, marketing, management and strategy.
- Harvard Business for EducatorsView purchase options available to educators.
- Ivey Case Studies: NortheasternRegistration required. For case studies where Northeastern University has retained copyright, faculty may request free access for their classes.
- Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text peer-reviewed teaching cases focusing on business decision making and management development through key emerging markets and developing economies.
Entrepreneurship
- PitchBook This link opens in a new windowStartups & the venture capital (VC) & private equity (PE) firms that invest in them.
- Business Plans Handbook (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new windowActual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education Ebooks This link opens in a new windowAlexander Osterwalder's Business Model Canvas series and other entrepreneurial ebooks
- Gartner IT Library This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of Northeastern Information Technology Services
Technology products, services, and trends, especially useful for finding leading companies that supply technology products. See more information and login instructions here - Derwent Innovations Index (1993 - current) This link opens in a new windowPatent search
Derwent Innovations Index facilitates rapid, precise international patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
Business Model GenerationCo-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization.
Value Proposition DesignUsing the same stunning visual format as the authors' global bestseller, Business Model Generation, this sequel explains how to use the "Value Proposition Canvas" to design, test, create, and manage products and services customers actually want.
The Four Steps to the Epiphany by Launched the Lean Startup approach to new ventures. Startups are not smaller versions of large companies. Startups search for business models while existing companies execute them. Teaches the Customer Development process & why some startups are successful & others end up selling off their furniture.
The Startup Owner's Manual by Guides you through the customer development process. Learn how to avoid the 9 deadly sins that destroy startups' chances for success & incorporate the Business Model Canvas as the organizing principle for your startup.
The Lean Startup by ISBN: 9780307887894Publication Date: 2011-09-13Most startups fail. But many of those failures are preventable. Startups are creating something new under conditions of extreme uncertainty. The Lean Startup uses "validated learning," rapid scientific experimentation, as well as a number of counter-intuitive practices that shorten product development cycles, measure actual progress without resorting to vanity metrics, and learn what customers really want.
Venture deals : be smarter than your lawyer and venture capitalist by Venture Deals shows fledgling entrepreneurs the inner-workings of the VC process, from the venture capital term sheet and effective negotiating strategies to the initial seed and the later stage funding.
The Art of Startup FundraisingExcellent book detailing aspects of startup fundraising such as; venture capital funds invest in vs private equity funds, the differences between different funding rounds (series A, B, etc.) and other useful nuances.
Pitch Perfect: Raising Capital for Your StartupISBN: 9781484260647There is one step that can make or break an entire deal: the pitch. Founders everywhere struggle to nail the perfect pitch to garner VC backing, and this book is here to help. Pitch Perfect expertly teaches you how to tell your startup's story. To raise venture capital, it is absolutely crucial that your foundation is a story that is accessible, compelling, and succinct.
Bloomberg Terminals
Current Boston Northeastern students, faculty and staff have access to Bloomberg Terminals through the D'Amore-McKim School of Business. As of July 2022 the virtual Bloomberg service is no longer available. All Bloomberg terminals are located at the Bloomberg Lab in 054 Dodge Hall.
Bloomberg terminals are provided courtesy of the D'Amore-McKim School of Business. Current NU only.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.