Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Industry Quick Sheet
A selective guide to some important sources of industry information. All sources are linked at this page.
Surveys and Reports
These databases provide industry reports - keep in mind that a report with a broader industry topic may include segments within that industry. For example, a report on apparel may include a section on menswear.
Domestic coverage. Click on the Industry Survey tab - View All to see the list of covered industries as well as date of last update.
International coverage. Many industry reports include a Five Forces Analysis.
International coverage. Analysis and reports on specific industries as well as broader industries.
FitchConnect (formerly Business Monitor International)
International coverage; Useful for up-to-the-minute global, regional, or country-based industry forecasts and trends analysis.
EMIS: Emerging Markets Information Service
Covers emerging markets. News and reports available in English and local languages.
Use Statista to find information on markets, demographics, surveys and rankings.
Use the Companies/Markets tab to locate the Industry link.
Value Line provides investment research data and analysis of companies and markets.
Mergent Archives (Formerly Mergent Web Reports)
Archive of corporate and industry related documents from Mergent. Includes Digital Corporate Manuals and the Digital Municipal & Government Manuals.
Search for articles, books, media and more with Scholar OneSearch.
You may have to search through several resources to find the industry you are researching.
D&B Key Business Ratios
Also available in print: Reference HF5681.R25 I52x
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Available in print only: Reference HF5681.B2 R6x
Other Industry Information
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Use this database to find trade and industry articles.
Search for news within industries, or use the Companies/Markets tab to search for a company and get ratio comparison reports. Jointly funded by the University Libraries and the D'Amore-McKim School of Business.
A good resource for news and trade articles.
Create comparison reports on companies within an industry; search by SIC, NAICS, DUNS, and more.
Provided by the D'Amore-McKim School of Business.
North American Industry Classification System
NAICS is a classification system for business establishments designed for the collection, tabulation, presentation, and analysis of statistical data describing the U.S. economy.