Research Subject Guides: Education: Get Started

Key Resources

Welcome! For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources.

Education Research Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals in education, most with full text. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles and documents related to education.
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes ERIC and an education journal collection as well as Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of other social sciences resources. Databases may be searched individually or as a group.
Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, Social Sciences Premium includes

Sociology Database
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
PAIS Index
Political Science Database
PolicyFile
Criminal Justice Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Library Science Database
Library & Information Science Abstracts
Education Database
ERIC
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics Database
Social Science Database
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
An online resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and proceedings papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of educational technology and e-Learning.
Formerly known as EditLib.
PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to
writing up and publishing the findings.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
An independent newspaper and website, with articles, special reports, data, and career opportunities in higher education, especially in the United States.
Current Northeastern faculty, staff and students have free access to the Chronicle one of three ways:
1. Use the Northeastern Chronicle link above for access with your Northeastern username and password.
2. Set up a free personal account here using your Northeastern email address.
  - click on Create a Free Account.
  - Submit the appropriate information being requested--you must use your Northeastern email address. You will also be required to create a password. This is not your Northeastern password, so it can be whatever you want it to be.
  - With a web browser, sign in to the Chronicle with your personal account and password. No special URL or plugin necessary.
3. Once you have created a free personal account using the instructions above, you can use the Chronicle mobile app
  - download The Chronicle of Higher Education app from your app store.
  - You will be required to login using your free account credentials (Northeastern email and Chronicle password).
  - The Chronicle will appear on your device. You can read current issues, or download and read archived editions later.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Current news, job ads, emphasis on US K-12.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including education, psychology, and other social science disciplines.
Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues. The Northeastern Library also purchases individual e-book titles from JSTOR. The books are available chapter-by-chapter as PDFs.

Arts and Sciences IV content is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new window
Use for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. LInks to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index
Book Citation Index (2005-present)
Conference Citation Index
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Current Chemical Reactions Index
Index Chemicus
Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new window
Use this database to check whether journals are scholarly and peer-reviewed.
For tips on using Ulrich's, check out the Videos and Tutorials page of this guide.

Education Librarian - Boston and Online

Education Librarian - Oakland

See Also

Related Subjects

Education : Get Started

Key Resources

Education Librarian - Boston and Online

Education Librarian - Oakland

See Also

Related Subjects

Article

Bibliography

Call Number

Peer Review

Limiter

Dissertation

Database

Scholarly Source