Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome! For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources or consult a Subject Librarian or discipline-specific Subject Guide.
Scholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
NU is now a member of Policy Commons! Use this resource to access reports and other materials from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, government agencies, and academic research centers.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of international affairs, political science, public policy, and public administration. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including international relations, area studies, political science, and peace and conflict studies. One of the premier sources for classic literature in the social sciences, the collection now includes articles published in recent years.
Full-text access to selected journal titles in the social sciences and digital humanities. From 1995 to the present (dates covered in individual titles may vary).
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Includes Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, and a number of full-text journal collections, among them Political Science, Sociology, Education, and Social Sciences. Resources may be searched individually or as a group.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides access to citation data for approximately 8,700 high-impact journals across the disciplines, including international relations, area studies, and political science.
Political Handbook of the World
The Political Handbook provides an overview of a nation's political landscape as well as coverage of government organization and structure and political parties, including extremist groups or ethnic parties, if relevant. Editions back to 2005-2006 are available.
One of the premier sources of country information. In addition to extensive coverage of individual countries and territories, Europa covers international and regional organizations, commodities, and selected biographical and directory information. Continuous updating of geopolitical developments, including election results is provided.
Formerly, EIU.com, Viewpoint has a new interface with enhanced content. Excellent resource for finding country and regional information.Economic and political analyses and forecasts.
Research Tip - Use these resources with Political Handbook of the World to build a more complete country profile. The Political Handbook provides an overview of a nation's political landscape as well as coverage of government organization and structure and political parties, including extremist groups or ethnic parties, if relevant. Editions back to 2005-2006 are available.
Access World News
International and domestic news coverage. Dates vary by title, but some sources go back to the late 1970’s. On the Access World News homepage, you’ll find an International Studies portal.
Selected Current News Sources
The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present. (Audio and Apps sections are not included in our subscription.)
Excellent source for keeping up with events around the world. Current issues and an archive.
Newspapers and magazines from over 60 countries, many in their original languages (translation of some titles available). Great resource for anyone planning to travel or study abroad!
Streaming Video Collections
Academic Video Online (AVON) offers videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines.
Watch complete videos or create playlists and clips in both Kanopy and AVON.
Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines. See especially the Global Studies, and Social Sciences areas.
Docuseek provides a number of documentaries of interest to International Affairs students, including materials on conflicts, countries, regions, and cultures.
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for International Affairs and Global Studies .