Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by completing the Evaluation Form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
Courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law
Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present.
Weekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
Edited in London since 1843, The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
Audio and apps are not included in Northeastern's subscription.
Original primary source documents relating to Empire Studies, including decolonization, from libraries and archives around the world. Diaries, images, letters, records.
This collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Foreign Office Files is having technical difficulties at this time. If you are located on the Boston campus, please try this link for better service.
These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history.
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
A source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broad, deep and scholarly. Comprehensive name and subject tagging, signed articles and references.
One of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes ArtStor images of art and primary source artifacts.
Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues. Arts and Sciences collections 1 thru XV are available, plus the Life Sciences collection, and Business III.
The Northeastern Library also purchases individual e-book titles from JSTOR. The books are available chapter-by-chapter as PDFs.
Arts and Sciences IV content is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Provides full text biographical and critical articles about literary authors, together with critical reactions to their works and bibliographies for further research.
Includes cross-search of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Excellent starting place, but not exhaustive.
Detailed information about 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
Forms the basis for the MLA Bibliography. Useful for finding a publishing venue for your work.
Coverage of Asia's economic, political, business and technology news in English. Established with a goal to change the way the Asia is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs.Includes online magazine, Unlock the Real Japan.
Public Affairs Information Service offers abstracts of scholarship and professional literature from 1915 to present. International in scope, broad range of social science topics. Includes links to full text where available for Northeastern-owned books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many government publications.
A unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
Scholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, Social Sciences Premium includes
Sociology Database Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts Sociological Abstracts Worldwide Political Science Abstracts PAIS Index Political Science Database PolicyFile Criminal Justice Database National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Library Science Database Library & Information Science Abstracts Education Database ERIC Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Linguistics Database Social Science Database International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Use for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. LInks to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index
Book Citation Index (2005-present)
Conference Citation Index
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Current Chemical Reactions Index
Index Chemicus
