Breaking News from the region (BBC)
Loading ...
Getting started with library research
Connect to Scholar OneSearch, the library's catalog and discovery system, for:
- books and e-books at the NU Libraries
- videos, CD's and DVD's, including streaming media at the NU Libraries
- local, national, and international documents
- dissertations and theses at NU and other institutions
- articles from scholarly, professional, and news sources
Key Resources for Middle Eastern Studies
- AnthroSource (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowA small, focused database of journal articles in anthropology, useful for learning about cultural and religious practices in Middle Eastern communities
- EIU Viewpoint and Country Reports (Economist Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new windowCurrent country-by-country reports with emphasis on politics and the economy.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam (Brill) This link opens in a new windowThe third edition of the famous Brill encyclopedia, with first and second editions also available on the site. Comprehensive and scholarly, with special strength in medieval Islamic personages, philosophy, geography and history. Also useful for confirming correct spellings of Arabic terms with English diacritics.
- Jewish Studies Source WITH Index to Jewish Periodicals (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowThese two databases, searched together, are a practical way to research all facets of Judaism and Jewish history and culture across many disciplines. Scholarship, commentary, and news (including complete Jewish Telegraphic Agency archives from 1922 to the present) are included.
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new windowOnline collections of high-quality images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world on JSTOR. Includes Artstor and its collections of art and architecture related images.
- JSTOR Middle East65 key research journals in Middle East studies are archived at JSTOR, including the Journal of Middle East Studies and Middle East Journal.
- MERIP: Middle East Research and Information Project This link opens in a new windowIndependent analysis of events and developments in the Middle East, including Middle East Report Online, which provides news and perspectives about the Middle East not available from mainstream news sources.
- MideastWire This link opens in a new windowA daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowPublic Affairs Information Service offers abstracts of scholarship and professional literature from 1915 to present. International in scope, broad range of social science topics. Includes links to full text where available for Northeastern-owned books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many government publications.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFind articles on philosophy and religious history and practice in Christianity, Judaism, Islam and other religions. Good for researching religious approaches to concepts like "bioethics", "just war", "jihad","gender". Not comprehensive in scope, but the trade-off is that full text is available for almost everything.
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new windowSearch polls from news outlets and research organizations, including the Pew Global Attitudes polls showing how people around the world, including in the Middle East, feel about Middle East social and political developments and US foreign policy.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowWorldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy.