International Affairs and Global Studies : INTL 3400 - International Conflict and Negotiation

Welcome to the research page for INTL 3400, International Conflict and Negotiation

This page introduces resources which may be useful for completing your course assignments.

Europa World Plus (Opens in new window) provides both country and regional profiles.

Select the Countries/Territories link, type a country name in the search box and press enter. Select Recent History and other topics of interest from the menu at the left. The History section often provides valuable information about previous conflicts and their resolutions or lack thereof.

Regional profiles may provide additional context since neighboring countries may be affected by the conflict or involved in negotiations. Select the Regions link and make your choice from the map or list of regions. Be sure to explore the Topical Essays link at the left of the regional homepage. Sometimes an Essay will cover an ongoing crisis or conflict.

Consider using the Political Handbook of the World (Opens in new window) to build a more complete country profile. The Political Handbook provides an overview of a nation's political landscape as well as coverage of government organization and structure. Political parties, including extremist groups or ethnic parties, are covered. Editions from 2005-2006 through 2023 are available to build a more complete country profile. Although the current year may not be available, the Handbook provides valuable background and historical information.

(Opens in new windo

Also, see the Articles and News tab on this guide to sign up for digital newspapers like the Washington Post , Nikkei Asia, and the New York Times.

Return to your country report in Europa World Plus (Opens in new window) and check the Directory for Society and Media. Lists of local news media are often available here.

Use these tools to find work published by NGOs, IGOs, and think tanks. Some of these reports may provide insight into the current state of the conflict and previous negotiations.

To locate comprehensive lists of thank tanks and other organizations working in the areas of conflict, negotiation, and peace, visit Policy Commons (Opens in new window) and PolicyFile (Opens in new window) referenced in the preceding box. Policy Commons is the more comprehensive of the two resources, but PolicyFile often offers some unique content.

Publications from the country or countries involved in the conflict. Look for official government sites; sometimes commercial sites provide information about government agencies and activities. These sites look official, but may not provide the most accurate or up to date information.

Use the Government and Politics Directory in Europa World Plus (Opens in new window) to find official websites. Navigate to the page for your country and use the sidebar at the left to select the appropriate directory.

Also try this Guide from Northwestern University.

Selected publications from the U.S. government

Use different combinations of keywords in Scholar OneSearch (Opens in new window) to look for materials which provide insight into conflict participant motivations, strategies, etc....for example: Boko Haram media, Al Shabaab interviews, etc..

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) (Opens in new window)

This resource defines homeland security very broadly. Representative topics include climate change, active shooters, cybersecurity, terrorism, disinformation, and immigration. Occasionally HSDL provides materials which provide insight into conflict participants' points of views. For example...

Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for International Affairs and Global Studies .