Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
What are primary sources?
Primary sources are first-hand sources created at the time of a particular event or period.
Primary sources can be found online, reproduced in printed books, or in archives of original documents!
U.S. Foreign Policy: Primary Sources
Digital National Security Archive
Founded by journalists and scholars, the National Security Archive promotes open government by acting as a clearinghouse for declassified information.
The archive consists of primary source information: declassified government documents, chronologies, and images; plus secondary sources like bibliographies and explanatory essays. Covers critical issues in U.S. foreign policy and national security from post-World War II to the present.
National Security Archive Virtual Reading Room
A partnership between a journalism nonprofit and George Washington University, this project attempts to declassify federal documents relating to security and foreign policy. Some are freely available online at this site.
National Security Archive Sourcebook (George Washington Univ.)
These documents are grouped for easy access, and include original documents about the Able Archer War Scare, Iraq War, and 9/11.
Wilson Center Cold War History Project
Part of the Wilson Center archive, this includes a blog with updates on new research, sources and methods, podcasts, and links to Wilson Center documents.
Wilson Center Digital Archive
International foreign policy documents focusing on the Korean War, the Cold War, and Nuclear Proliferation
Politics and International affairs