History - General : Research Primary Sources

View a list of collections available to Northeastern users.
This resource is available for text mining; please learn more here.

The collections are so varied as to include an unpublished manuscript music collection from Oxford, the vast engineering library of Linda Hall, and rare monograph and pamphlet area collections from various regions of the world. These collections are made available in print, in microfilm, and, in many cases, online. Faculty, students, and staff are eligible to borrow resources through an extended delivery system or, when available, through electronic delivery or online. See our Subject Guide to the Center for Research Libraries

The works that were filmed for this collection come from a number of major institutions, including the British Library, the Bodleian (Oxford), Cambridge University, Harvard University, Library of Congress, the Huntington Library, University of Manchester and many more.

View nature and scope information.

Collections include: Immigration Records from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS), National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Papers, Women's Rights Collections with documents from organizations like the Women's Party and League of Women Voters. From the ProQuest University Publications of America (UPA) Collection.

To learn more, view Roper's video tutorials.

Newspaper text is in English, Sotho, German, Portuguese, Xhosa, and more.

This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Formerly called 19th Century British Newspapers.

Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China.