Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
perhaps our most popular resource for scholarly articles in history and related disciplines.
American Periodicals Series, 1741-1940 (ProQuest)
Fully searchable, scanned images of popular American periodicals, including advertising. Click for complete description and help.
Search for books and journal articles in anthropology, with links to Northeastern's full text subscriptions or ILL options.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost)
Search and link to periodical articles. Though not normally known as an index to scholarly content, there are a few scholarly sources included (eg Current, Monthly Labor Review, Science) in addition to popular and professional journals.
Background and Statistics
Cambridge Histories Online
These e-books provide in-depth scholarly treatments of different regions of the world.
Historical Statistics of the United States
An update and expansion of summary census data: labor, law enforcement, population, military, and much more.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015)
based on topic rather than country or time period, useful for themes and approaches, e.g. "Race and Gender Intersections", "Historical Archaeology" etc.
gives you a list of the most important works on key history topics.
Oxford English Dictionary
learn the historical origins and meanings of words and phrases ("Jim Crow", "genocide", "antinomian", etc)
People and Biography
Archives and Primary Sources
See specific regions and topics at the top of this guide for more sources
A database of archival material descriptions, including WorldCat records and finding aids harvested from the web.
Center for Research Libraries
Northeastern is a member of this shared library of primary source material located in Chicago. Strengths include historic newspapers and magazines and international documents, reports, rare books, and dissertations. Some is digitized, some can be sent to you in print using interlibrary loan.
An online library of primary source materials related to the history of empires from 1607. The focus is on essays and grey literature such as travel writings, missionary reports, maps and drawings, and less on official reports. There are some secondary sources including chronologies and scholarly essays.
History Vault (Proquest)
online archival collections on US history, mostly from the late 19th through the late 20th centuries. Notable: NAACP papers, records on the Woman Suffrage movement, oral histories from Ellis Island, US government commissions and records on the Weather Underground, the Kennedy Assassination, American Indian Movements and Wounded Knee, Watergate, and more.
New and Noteworthy: Food and Drink
Northeastern Archives: images and documents from Northeastern and our surrounding communities: