Choosing a research guide
As a student in ENGW 3315, Advanced Writing in the Disciplines, you may need to choose more than one subject guide to get an appropriate selection of databases for multidisciplinary research. The Subject Guides list includes all subjects and will provide Key Resources in those subjects.
Key Resources for Scholarly Articles
Below is a selection of interdisciplinary databases to which the Library subscribes. You can also browse the complete list of databases on the library's home page.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. JSTOR also includes ArtStor images of art and primary source artifacts.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
Use this link if you want to include video clips from the Associated Press in your search results. - Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
- Taylor & Francis OnlineA subscription library of online journals in a variety of disciplines from Taylor and Francis publishers.
Search tools
There are a number of approaches to searching:
Search Library Catalogs + Articles with
Scholar OneSearch
SAMPLE SEARCH USING "OR" (you must capitalize the term OR for this search tool)
with a filter for peer-reviewed journal articles:
3. Consult our research tutorials (on video or PDF) for commonly-asked questions about the research process, and for help in making the most of library resources and services.
- Choose a search tool recommended in your
subject research guide - Try an interdisciplinary database, such as
Academic Search Complete
Topic by chance--heard this on NPR, for example:
- The LORAX warned up 50 years ago but we didn't listen and the United Nations Climate Change Reports
- Vaccination passports and South Africa's internal passport system during apartheid
- TED Talk- Radio Hour Marah Hardt: What Can We Learn From The Sex Lives Of Fish? and
what is the economic impact?
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes ArtStor images of art and primary source artifacts.
Antri-Racism and Diversity Library Guides
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Anti-Racism are all important topics which cannot be properly discussed in one small section. Instead, this section serves to connect you to relevant research guides and webpages on these topics.
The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Guide (DEI) seeks to connect students, staff, faculty and community members to resources related to DEI work that is available throughout Northeastern University Library, Northeastern University, and the surrounding community.
The Anti-Racism Guide seeks to connect students, staff, faculty, and community members to resources related to anti-racism work that are available through Northeastern University Library and Northeastern University.