Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Art, Design, and Architecture Collection (ProQuest)
Scholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts.
Academic Search Complete (Ebscohost)
A multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.
Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
Scholarly articles covering communication, mass media, rhetoric, and other closely related fields. Useful for the business aspects of art, such as advertising and graphic design.
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles from academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering a range of business topics. Useful for researching the business aspects of art and design.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Archive of scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. Useful for research in art and architectural history.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost)
Scholarly and magazine articles covering all aspects of the humanities.
ACM Digital Library
Contains full-text access to most Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and conference proceedings. Coverage of computer science, engineering, information science. Strong resource for students in the MFA Information Design and Visualization program.
IEEEXplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library)
Publications in electrical engineering, computer science, information technology, and electronics from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals, transactions, magazines, and conference proceedings. Strong resource for students in the MFA Information Design and Visualization program. Maximum number of users at a time: 15.
Not Sure if it's Peer-Reviewed?
Use Ulrich's Web to check if an article you have found through a database is from a peer-reviewed journal. First, type in the name of the journal into the main search bar. Then, look for the referee icon to the left of the journal title. This will indicate that the journal is refereed, or peer-reviewed. Please note that editorials and book reviews are not considered peer-reviewed articles even though they are published in a peer-reviewed journal (they do not undergo the same publishing process).
Need an article? You can request articles that aren't available at NU.
Use ILLiad to request articles and other items not available at NU. Free, first-time user registration required.
Interested in improving your searching or search results? Need to find peer-reviewed articles?
Consult the Research Tutorials guide for videos, handouts, and more.