Art and Design : Find Articles

Scholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts.

Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.

Archive of scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. Useful for research in art and architectural history.

E-books and other digital materials from the arts, design, theory, and architecture fields. Includes often-overlooked ephemera such as artists ebooks, podcasts, filmed lectures, typefaces, and more. Some items require registration (free) to view.

A multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.

Full articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts.

Web of Science is a database that broadly covers all of the sciences with strengths in natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences. Great for interdisciplinary research, it also includes coverage of social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Access to Elsevier ebooks and select scholarly journals covering biomedical science and medicine, pharmacology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences and more.

Scholarly and magazine articles covering all aspects of the humanities.

Scholarly articles covering communication, mass media, rhetoric, and other closely related fields. Useful for the business aspects of art, such as advertising and graphic design.

Articles from academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering a range of business topics. Useful for researching the business aspects of art and design.

Peer-reviewed journals in education, most with full text. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Contains full-text access to most Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and conference proceedings. Coverage of computer science, engineering, information science. Strong resource for students in the MFA Information Design and Visualization program.

Publications in electrical engineering, computer science, information technology, and electronics from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals, transactions, magazines, and conference proceedings. Strong resource for students in the MFA Information Design and Visualization program. Maximum number of users at a time: 15.

Citations and abstracts for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection relating to computer science. Links to full text.

Combines the citations and full text links of Compendex and Inspec with full text books from Knovel, for a more comprehensive search on computer science and engineering topics.

Use Ulrich's Web to check if an article you have found through a database is from a peer-reviewed journal. First, type in the name of the journal into the main search bar. Then, look for the referee icon to the left of the journal title. This will indicate that the journal is refereed, or peer-reviewed. Please note that editorials and book reviews are not considered peer-reviewed articles even though they are published in a peer-reviewed journal (they do not undergo the same publishing process).