Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
This guide introduces resources to support your research topics in architecture. Use the tabs at the top of the page to help you locate background information on your topic, articles, books, images, and more.
If you need assistance with your research or using library resources, please email me, schedule an appointment, or Ask a Librarian.
New Resource for Art and Architecture E-books
Art and Architecture ePortal (Yale)
An ebook platform designed specifically to meet the needs of students and scholars of art and architectural history. It features content from university presses as well as museum publishers, and offers full text searching of the ebooks and searching for images.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Art, Design, and Architecture Collection (ProQuest)
Scholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts, as well as architecture.
Archive of scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. Useful for research in art and architectural history.
Try GreenFile for information on sustainable architecture, green buildings, climate change, and materials reuse and recycling.
Academic Search Complete (Ebscohost)
A multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.
An image database, including a digital library with high-quality, authoritative images in the areas of art, architecture, photography, and the humanities and social sciences.
For material on green building or sustainable design, try:
Provides a broad range of resources on green design, including Environmental Building News from 1992 to present, the GreenSpec product directory, LEED ratings, and several hundred case studies from the High Performance Buildings database.
Getting to Know Your Topic
Reference sources, such as encyclopedias or dictionaries, are great starting points for familiarizing yourself with your research topic. They can also help you identify the relevant keywords or specialized terms used to describe your topic.
Oxford Art Online
Includes biographies of architects, subject entries on architectural forms, and images.
Oxford Reference Online
Dictionaries and encyclopedias focusing on architects, building types, and styles.
Adobe Creative Cloud
In light of classes moving online, Adobe has provided temporary remote access for the Northeastern community. Please follow the instructions on ITS' website to enable access to Creative Cloud Desktop Apps on your personal device.
Design & Software Tutorials