Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provided by NU Libraries
Women Writers Online
Early modern women's writings from 1400 to 1850. Includes searchable full-text of books, poetry, and speeches as well as browse by date, author, and title.
Early English Books Online
Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700, with digital facsimile page images.
30+ million records from over 2,000 cultural institutions in Europe, constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.
Digital Public Library of American (DPLA)
Over 7 million records from 1,200 cultural institutions in the U.S., constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Includes historic U.S. Newspapers, links to international collections, photographs, early sound recordings, manuscripts, and former American Memory collections. Of course, very strong in U.S. history, but also with holdings from various historical eras in other countries.
Make sure to use the yellow log-in button and select Northeastern. Millions of digitized titles from around the world, covering the 15th to 21st centuries. A Google Books for academic libraries, with a good amount of full-text access for public domain items.
ICON: Newspaper Digitzation Projects
International in scope, one of the largest directories of which newspapers have been digitized. Some may be paid access only -- if you need a particular title first check here to see if it's been digitized, and then contact the Northeastern library to see if we have access or can locate a local library with access.
The Online Books Page
A listing of over 35,000 free books on the web, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Also includes listings of online serials (magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.)
National Digital Libraries
Of China, India, France, Australia... always try a search for the national or regional libraries in your area of focus.
Open Web Resources
16th Century Renaissance English Literature
From the Luminarium, an independent site with secondary sources as well as full-text works of English literature from the medieval and Renaissance periods and beyond, including Chaucer, Spenser, Milton, and Shakespeare. Each section will include extensive links to primary sources hosted at the Luminarium and elsewhere.
British Printed Images to 1700
Fully searchable digital library of several thousand prints and book illustrations from early modern Britain. From the University of London and King's College, London.
Provides sophisticated advanced search of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts scattered over many institutions. From UC Berkeley Libraries.
Attempts to provide access to "all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents)". Indexes more than 5 million digital images at libraries all over the world, includes very sophisticated advanced search features and image viewer.
Parker on the Web
Not all features are available for free, but includes many works like the earliest known copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle, King Alfred's translation of Gregory the Great's Pastoral Care, the Ancrene Wisse, the Brut chronicle, and one of the finest copies of Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde. From Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, and Stanford University Libraries.
Perseus Collection: Renaissance Materials
From Tufts University, a searchable full-text collection of primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature. Includes diverse works like an early Shakespearean grammar, Irish histories, and editions of Plutarch, Marlowe, and the Globe Shakespeare.
Shakespeare in Quarto
From the British Library's Treasures in Full, 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theater closures. High-quality scans plus additional scholarship from experts, with the ability to compare quartos side-by-side.
Scriptorium: Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts Online
Manuscript miscellanies and commonplace books from c. 1450-1720, with accompanying descriptions, transcriptions and bibliographies. From the University of Cambridge.
Renaissance Festival Books
From the British Library's Treasures in Full, high-quality scans plus additional scholarship from experts. 253 digitized books on the magnificent festivals and ceremonies in Europe between 1475 and 1700 - marriages and funerals of royalty and nobility, coronations, stately entries into cities and other grand events.