Help with assignments
- Here's a brief description.
- And a NOTE: Please check the assignment requirements--what type of annotation is needed? Sometimes you are asked to write an abstract, other times you are asked to explain WHY you are including this citation in your annotated bibliography.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab provides Annotated Bibliography Samples in MLA, APA and Chicago Manual of Style
Need peer-reviewed journal articles?
- Find and Filter your results in Scholar OneSearch (opens in new window) for peer-reviewed journal articles
Many databases provide the filter option, such as
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
Use this link if you want to include video clips (Opens in new window) from the Associated Press in your search results.
Checking for a peer-reviewed journal:
- Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new windowLists all journals, print and electronic, with publisher information, subscription prices, subject descriptions, web locations, and much more.
- Tutorial: This video tutorial shows how to use Ulrich's to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed. (or see the PDF/slide version)
Is there a list of peer-reviewed journals in my subject?
- BrowZine Web Edition This link opens in a new windowBrowZine is software that allows you to browse, read, and monitor many of the librarys scholarly journals in a format optimized for your iOS or Android device.
Frequently Used Style Guides
-
APA (American Psychological Association)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: the official guide to APA style (print; ask at the Snell Library Help & Information Desk)
- APA Style Blog
-
MLA (Modern Language Association)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
- MLA handbook (print; ask at the Snell Library Help & Information Desk)
-
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- IEEE Reference Guide (PDF)
- IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors (PDF)
- The IEEE guide to writing in the engineering and technical fields (e-book; NU login required)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
-
Harvard
- Harvard Format Citation Guide from Mendeley
- Note: there is no "official" version of the Harvard citation style. Harvard University does not use this style, nor does it offer guidance on its use. Institutions that use "Harvard" style often have institution-specific requirements. Students at NCH London are directed to use the instructions on the Mendeley webpage linked above. For more guidance, please refer back to your assignment or your instructor.
- Harvard Format Citation Guide from Mendeley
-
AMA (American Medical Association)
- AMA Manual of Style (electronic resource; NU login required)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
-
Chicago
- The Chicago manual of style (e-book; NU login required)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
-
ASA (American Sociological Association)
- Purdue Online Writing Lab guide
- American Sociological Association style guide (print; ask at the Help & Information desk)
-
Turabian
- Turabian: a manual for writers (e-book; NU login required)
Newspapers can provide current information on technology, economics, international news and social issues.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. This is a 90 day archive. PressReader can also be accessed via email registration. Go directly to the home page, click 'Sign In,' then 'Library or Group,' then select Northeastern University from the dropdown menu to create your account.
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowNortheastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU Boston email address.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
For a comprehensive list of News & Newspaper Sources, check the A-Z Databases list
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. - Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
- ScienceDirect Topic Pages -- NOT just science. Have a topic and need to get up to speed on it? You can log in through Northeastern University on the ScienceDirect Topic page login to access all content licensed by the Library. Register for an account if you want to save searches. BTW, this system does not search like Google---If you use quote marks to phrase search, such as "artificial intelligence" the system will not complete the search.
Need research help?
- Chat with a librarian 24/7!
- Drop in at the research help desk in the lobby of Snell Library: 11am-3pm, weekdays.
- Email the library. Please allow at least one business day for a response.
- Call us (617) 373-2356
- Contact your Subject librarian for in-depth research support
Need help with your writing?
Need technical support?
- The IT Service Desk is available to help 24/7/365 at 617.373.HELP [4357] or help@northeastern.edu.
-
The Tech Support Portal is where you can submit service requests, browse the knowledge base, report issues, and more—all in one place.
Resources by discipline
Suggested research sources from Advanced Writing in the Disciplines:
- Arts, Media & Design
- Business
- Engineering & Computer Sciences (the technical professions)
- Environmental or dInterdisciplinary
- Health Sciences
- Humanities
- Sciences
- Social Sciences