Stressed and Worried?
Stressed and worried?
Support is available for all Northeastern students. If you are a student on one of the university’s global campuses, local resources can be found here.
- University Health and Counseling Services: Provides confidential medical and mental health services for students located in Massachussetts.
- Counseling and Psychological Services: Provides confidential mental health services to students on the Oakland campus.
- Find@Northeastern: provides students with a variety of mental health resources. Full-time degree-seeking students across the Global University System can connect to confidential 24/7 urgent mental health support by calling 877.233.9477 (US), 855.229.8797 (Canada), or +1.781.457.7777 (International), unlimited free counseling sessions through Uwill, and access to Headspace. Additionally, all Northeastern students can access a moderated peer-to-peer platform through Togetherall.
- We Care: Creates a support system to help students when significant issues arise that impede their success.
- Office of Prevention and Education at Northeastern (OPEN): Provides confidential, non-judgmental check-ins for students on topics related to alcohol and other drugs, sexual violence prevention and sexual health.
- Office of the University Ombuds for Graduate Students offers confidential, impartial, and informal assistance to graduate students who have concerns related to their university experience.
- Center for Spirituality, Dialogue, and Service: Attends to spiritual needs and offers confidential support and guidance.
- Disability Resource Center: Ensures that students with disabilities have equal access to the academic experience at Northeastern and recommends accommodations that provide an equivalent experience.
- Supporting Student Mental Health Guides: Include information about warning signs to look for and information on connecting students with appropriate campus partners when they need extra support. This collection includes guides for Boston, Oakland and the Global Campus University System.
Resources for NU Affiliates
University Support Services for NU Affiliates
- Office of Prevention and Education at Northeastern (OPEN)
Visit their collection of mental health guides for students, their family members, and for faculty and staff in Oakland or the Global University System.
- Center for Spirituality, Dialogue and Service (CSDS)
- Northeastern Ombuds Office for Faculty and Staff
- Northeastern University Police Department (UPD)
Want to book an appointment with Cooper and Sarge? Email nupd-engagement@northeastern.edu
- Husky to Husky Peer Education on Wellness
- Active Minds: changing the conversation about mental health
Active Minds chapter at Northeastern University with resources and events
Northeastern University Human Resources (HR)
- Mental Health Resources for Faculty and Staff, includes
Employee Assistance Program at 877.739.3989 or register for online services at the EAP website - HR resources for Wellness & Life
City of Boston
Massachusetts
- Department of Mental Health
- Finding Mental Health Support in Massachusetts
- Homeless Shelters in Massachusetts
United States
-
Crisis Textline provides free 24/7 support. Also available in Spanish.
-
National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)
-
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Esta página también está disponible en español. -
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs -- Get Help
- VAmobile App Store including tools and information for Mental Health
- Mindfulness Coach App is available to all and is FREE!
- Veterans Crisis Line
- Check in "Check Out" of the Veteran Wellness Alliance
- Additional resources:
Please be aware that most e-books are readable through a browser or through an e-book reader (Nook or Kindle, for example) depending on publisher.
10 Steps to Mastering Stress by
We know that stress is bad for us. We see evidence of this in the news, we hear it from our doctors, and we feel it at the end of a hectic week. Health professionals have learned that stress interferes with our lives-it increases missed work days, can lead to relationship difficulties, and can increase the risk of turning to drugs and alcohol. It has also been shown that in some cases, chronic stress can increase our risk of developing certain serious illnesses. We know of all these negative effects that stress can cause, but, realistically, for most of us there's no end in sight-stressful events will crop up throughout our lives and even daily. We can't stop stressful events from happening, but we can change our lifestyles to better handle stressful situations. The authors of 10 Steps to Mastering Stress, renowned stress and anxiety experts David Barlow, Ronald Rapee, and Sarah Perini, have designed a proven step-by-step program that will help you identify what is causing your stress, teach you calming techniques, and provide you with a realistic approach to reducing your daily stress. This updated edition now includes: *detailed case studies based on real clients the authors have treated, so you can see how every stage of the program is implemented. *new material incorporating mindfulness-based stress reduction strategies and added information on how to deal with real-life problems. *streamlined steps that make the program more efficient and even easier to follow. Based on nearly two decades of research, 10 Steps to Mastering Stress has been scientifically developed and tested to ensure that it is the most effective way to control stress. Readers will learn valuable new skills-new ways of thinking, acting, and organizing their lives to reduce stress to a manageable level.
ISBN: 9780199917532Publication Date: 2014
Addressing Race-Based Stress in Therapy with Black Clients by
Despite Black Americans being at high risk for negative mental health symptoms due to racism and other chronic stresses, disparities persist in the provision of mental health services to this population. This book addresses that gap in clinical practice by explicitly calling attention to the experience of race-based stress in the Black community. Johnson and Melton urge mental health practitioners to action in promoting societal understanding, affirmation, and appreciation of multiculturalism against the damaging effects of individual, institutional, and societal racism, prejudice, and all forms of oppression based on stereotyping and discrimination. Chapters include worksheets, vignettes, and case studies to provide a practical framework for implementing an effective, nonpathological approach to ameliorating the damaging effects of race-based trauma and stress. This book will give tools and strategies for mental health professionals to responsibly use scientific and professional knowledge to improve the condition of individuals, communities, and, by extension, society.
ISBN: 9780429441059Publication Date: 2020
The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook. 7th ed. by
Celebrating 30 years as a classic in its field and recommended by therapists worldwide, The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook is an unparalleled, essential resource for people struggling with anxiety and phobias. Living with anxiety, panic disorders, or phobias can make you feel like you aren't in control of your life. Tackle the fears that hold you back with this go-to guide. Packed with the most effective skills for assessing and treating anxiety, this evidence-based workbook contains the latest clinical research. You'll find an arsenal of tools for quieting worry, ending negative self-talk, and taking charge of your anxious thoughts, including: Relaxation and breathing techniques New research on exposure therapy for phobias Lifestyle, exercise, mindfulness and nutrition tips Written by a leading expert in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), this fully revised and updated seventh edition offers powerful, step-by-step treatment strategies for panic disorders, agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder (GAD), obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), worry, and fear. You will also find new information on relapse prevention after successful treatment, and updates on medication, cannabis derivatives, ketamine, exposure, nutrition, spirituality, the latest research in neurobiology, and more. Whether you suffer from anxiety and phobias yourself, or are a professional working with this population, this book provides the latest treatment solutions for overcoming the fears that stand in the way of living a meaningful and happy life. This workbook can be used on its own or in conjunction with therapy.
ISBN: 9781684034833Publication Date: 2020
Big Feelings by
From the duo behind the bestselling book No Hard Feelings and the wildly popular @LizandMollie Instagram, an insightful and approachable illustrated guide to handling our most difficult emotions. We all experience unwieldy feelings. But between our emotion-phobic society and the debilitating uncertainty of modern times, we usually don't know how to talk about what we're going through, much less handle it. Over the past year, Liz Fosslien and Mollie West Duffy's online community has laughed and cried about productivity guilt, pandemic anxiety, and Zoom fatigue. Now, Big Feelings addresses anyone intimidated by oversized feelings they can't predict or control, offering the tools to understand what's really going on, find comfort, and face the future with a sense of newfound agency. Weaving surprising science with personal stories and original illustrations, each chapter examines one uncomfortable feeling--like envy, burnout, and anxiety--and lays out strategies for turning big emotions into manageable ones. You'll learn: * How to end the cycle of intrusive thoughts brought on by regret, and instead use this feeling as a compass for making decisions * How to identify what's behind your anger and communicate it productively, without putting people on the defensive * Why we might be suffering from perfectionism even if we feel far from perfect, and how to detach your self-worth from what you do Big Feelings helps us understand that difficult emotions are not abnormal, and that we can emerge from them with a deeper sense of meaning. We can't stop emotions from bubbling up, but we can learn how to make peace with them.
ISBN: 9780593418239Publication Date: 2022
Burnout Epidemic: the rise of chronic stress and how we can fix it by ISBN: 1647820375Publication Date: 2021- College Wellness Guide: a student's guide to managing mental, physical and social health on campus by ISBN: :0593450388Publication Date: 2021
Complaint! by
In Complaint! Sara Ahmed examines what we can learn about power from those who complain about abuses of power. Drawing on oral and written testimonies from academics and students who have made complaints about harassment, bullying, and unequal working conditions at universities, Ahmed explores the gap between what is supposed to happen when complaints are made and what actually happens. To make complaints within institutions is to learn how they work and for whom they work: complaint as feminist pedagogy. Ahmed explores how complaints are made behind closed doors and how doors are often closed on those who complain. To open these doors---to get complaints through, keep them going, or keep them alive---Ahmed emphasizes, requires forming new kinds of collectives. This book offers a systematic analysis of the methods used to stop complaints and a powerful and poetic meditation on what complaints can be used to do. Following a long lineage of Black feminist and feminist of color critiques of the university, Ahmed delivers a timely consideration of how institutional change becomes possible and why it is necessary.
ISBN: 1478022337Publication Date: 2021
A Cure for Darkness: The Story of Depression and How We Treat It by
A fascinating, "rich, and generous" (Financial Times) look at the treatment of depression by an award-winning science writer that blends popular science, narrative history, and memoir. Is depression a persistent low mood, or is it a range of symptoms? Can it be expressed through a single diagnosis, or does depression actually refer to a diversity of mental disorders? Is there, or will there ever be, a cure? In seeking the answers to these questions, Riley finds a rich history of ideas and treatments--and takes the reader on a gripping narrative journey, packed with fascinating stories like the junior doctor who discovered that some of the first antidepressants had a deadly reaction with cheese. "Interweaving memoir, case histories, and accounts of new therapies, Riley anatomizes what is still a fairly young science, and a troubled one" (The New Yorker). Reporting on the field of global mental health from its colonial past to the present day, Riley highlights a range of scalable therapies, including how a group of grandmothers stands on the frontline of a mental health revolution. Hopeful, fascinating, and profound, A Cure for Darkness is "recommended reading for anyone with even a peripheral interest in depression" (Washington Examiner).
ISBN: 1501198777Publication Date: 2021
HBR Guide to Beating Burnout by
Burnout is rampant. Recognize the signs and make the right changes. The always-on workplace and increasing pressures are leading to a high rate of burnout. Unmanaged, chronic work stress doesn't just lead to lower productivity and negative emotions—it can have dire personal and professional consequences. Are you and your team at risk? The HBR Guide to Beating Burnout provides practical tips and advice to help you, your team, and your organization navigate the perils of burnout and rediscover healthy engagement at work. You'll learn how to: Understand the difference between normal stress and burnout Keep your passion for work from leading to burnout Avoid working from home burnout Protect your high performers from burnout Help prevent burnout on your team—even if you're burned out Bounce back and regain your productivity and effectiveness Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, with the most trusted brand in business. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
ISBN: 9781647820008Publication Date: 2020
Headcase : LGBTQ writers & artists on mental health and wellness by ISBN: 0190846607Publication Date: 2019
How to Deal with Stress by
Straightforward, easy to read and highly practical, "How to Deal with Stress" puts the reader back in charge of their life and shows how to manage stress calmly and efficiently. Written by two internationally-recognized experts in the field of stress management, the book shows how to identify the underlying causes of stress before setting out a clear plan to manage both the causes of stress and their effects. "How to Deal with Stress" is crammed with invaluable tips on topics such as time management, exercise, nutrition and relaxation techniques. It offers not just a structured plan to manage stress but is also a practical handbook for both home and office, to dip into for quick advice, should the need arise.
ISBN: 1280869542Publication Date: 2009
An Introduction to Buddhist Psychology and Counselling by
This book, now in its fifth edition, provides a comprehensive introduction to Buddhist psychology and counselling, exploring key concepts in psychology and practical applications in mindfulness-based counselling techniques using Buddhist philosophy of mind, psychology, ethics and contemplative methods.
ISBN: 1137287543Publication Date: 2014
The Intuitive Eating Workbook by
Do you use food to comfort yourself during stressful times? The Intuitive Eating Workbook offers a comprehensive, evidence-based program to help you develop a healthy relationship with food, pay attention to cues of hunger and satisfaction, and cultivate a profound connection with your mind and body. Have you tried fad diet after fad diet, only to gain weight back? Maybe you've tried the protein diet only to move on to vegetables only? Raw almonds and coconut water every forty-five minutes instead of big meals? Or perhaps you've tried counting calories, but the numbers on the scale still don't add up. If you are ready to throw in your hat and give up on dieting for good, take heart. You can enjoy food again--you just need to pay attention to your body's natural hunger cues. Based on the authors' best-selling book, Intuitive Eating, this workbook can show you how. The Intuitive Eating Workbook offers a new way of looking at food and mealtime by showing you how to recognize your body's natural hunger signals. Structured around the ten principles of intuitive eating, the mindful approach in this workbook encourages you to abandon unhealthy weight control behaviors, develop positive body image, and--most importantly--stop feeling distressed around food! You were born with all the wisdom you need for eating intuitively. This book will help you reconnect with that wisdom and ultimately change your life--one meal at a time.
ISBN: 1626256233Publication Date: 2017
Managing Your Mental Health during your PhD by
his book explores the PhD experience as never before and provides a "survival guide" for current and prospective PhD students. The book investigates why mental health issues are so common among the postgraduate population, going beyond the statistics, looking at lived experience of both the author and as well as current PhD students, who have found balancing mental wellness with the PhD endeavour challenging. The author discusses tips and tricks she wished she had known at the start of her PhD process for managing mental health, such as managing imposter feelings, prioritizing workload, and self-care strategies to help others throughout their own journey. The book goes beyond typical mental health discussions (where the focus for improving mental health is placed on PhD students to become "more resilient" and explores some of the often unspoken environmental factors that can impact mental health. These include the PhD student-supervisor relationship, the pressure to publish, and deep systemic problems in academia, such as racism, bullying and harassment. Finally, the book is a call to action, providing tangible improvements from the authors perspective that university institutions can make to ensure that academia is a place for all to thrive
ISBN: 9783031141942Publication Date: 2022
The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression by
What if depression could lead to positive change? Written by acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) cofounder Kirk Strosahl and Patricia Robinson, this revised edition of the best-selling classic, The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression includes updated research on self-compassion, mindfulness, and neuroscience to help you live a more meaningful life. If you suffer from depression, you may feel like you are living under a perpetual raincloud, even when it's sunny outside. If left untreated, clinical depression can damage relationships, cause problems at work, lead to substance abuse, and even make it more difficult to overcome physical illnesses. You may feel too tired and scared to reach out for help, or you may try to avoid your feelings altogether. But you should know that there are little, effective ways you can overcome your depression, one day at a time. This fully revised and updated second edition of The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression will show you how changing daily behaviors and practicing new mindfulness skills can literally reshape your brain. Rather than fruitlessly trying to avoid your depression, you'll learn to focus on living a productive life by accepting your feelings. There are hundreds of books that will try to help you overcome or put an end to depression. But what if you could use your depression to change your life for the better? Your symptoms may be signals that something in your life needs to change. Learning to understand and interpret these signals is much more important than ignoring or avoiding them--approaches that only make the situation worse. This workbook uses techniques from acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to offer a new treatment plan for depression that will help accept your feelings instead of fruitlessly trying to avoid them. This new edition will include skills based on new research and contributions from mindfulness, self-compassion, and neuroscience. Using the skills outlined in this book, you'll be able to work through your depression, experience greater peace and well-being, and go on to create a better life.
ISBN: 9781626258464Publication Date: 2017-
The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Social Anxiety and Shyness by
Shyness is a common problem that comes with a high price. If you suffer from shyness or social anxiety you might avoid social situations and may have trouble connecting with others due to an extreme fear of humiliation, rejection, and judgment. As a shy person, you may also experience panic attacks that make it even more likely that you'll avoid social situations. With The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Social Anxiety and Shyness, the authors' acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) program for overcoming shyness has become available to the public for the first time. This program has been found to be highly effective in research studies for the treatment of social anxiety disorder and related subclinical levels of shyness. In the first section, you will confront performance fears, test anxiety, shy bladder, and interpersonal fears--fundamental symptoms of social anxiety. The second part helps you learn psychological flexibility to improve your ability to accept the feelings, thoughts, and behavior that may arise as you learn to work past your anxiety. By keeping your values front and center, you will gradually learn to move beyond your fears and toward greater social confidence. This book has been awarded The Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Seal of Merit -- an award bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.
ISBN: 9781608820818Publication Date: 2013
Moving Past PTSD: consciousness, understanding, and appreciation for military veterans and their families by ISBN: 9781538127056Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health by
The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health provides a comprehensive and authoritative review of research on the mental health of sexual minorities - defined as those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, or same-gender attracted; as well as the mental health ofgender minorities-defined as individuals who do not fully identify with their sex assigned at birth, including people who are transgender or gender non-binary. The twenty-first century has seen encouraging improvements in sampling, methods, and funding opportunities for research with sexual andgender minority (SGM) populations; nevertheless, a key purpose of this Handbook is to identify lingering gaps in research in order to motivate future scientists to expand knowledge about SGM mental health. The volume begins with a historical overview, followed by sections on mental healthcategories/diagnoses (such as anxiety, trauma, eating disorders, and suicide) and specific sexual and gender minority populations (including examinations of diverse ethnicities and orientations/identities). The handbook concludes with chapters on stigma, the role of resilience, and future directionsfor research with SGM groups. The volume is aimed at researchers conducting studies on the mental health of SGM populations, clinicians and researchers interested in psychiatric disorders that affect SGM populations, clinicians using evidence-based practice in the treatment of SGM patients/clients,students in mental health programs (clinical psychology, psychiatry, clinical social work, and psychiatric nursing), and policy makers.
ISBN: 9780190067991Publication Date: 20201
The Psychology of Inequity by
Inequities still exist in today's society, and this book advances awareness, an equitable mindset, and transformative change toward the goal of eliminating inequities and promoting inclusiveness and social justice. Racialized inequity is injustice or unfairness and exists when prejudice or discrimination based on any aspect of difference precludes access of certain groups to the resources and benefits of society. This volume takes a new look at the psychology of inequity today. Have we progressed or regressed since the height of the civil rights movement of the 1960s? Through an examination of the motivations and beliefs behind inequities and injustices, this text aims to answer this question and any others that a scholar or general reader interested in social inequities and multiculturalism may have. Chapters address the motives that sustain inequity and reflect on the beliefs and behaviors linked to implicit responses to threats of change and loss of privilege posed by the inclusion of "others." Includes cutting-edge scholarship addressing racial inequities Provides contemporary examples of racial inequity viewed through new psychological lenses Reviews the intersection of racial, economic, and mental health inequity among BIPOC citizens Addresses contemporary expressions of privilege and their relationships to social inequities Introduces transformational approaches to improving education and health care
ISBN: 9781440877988Publication Date: 2022
Safe Passage: a guide for addressing school violence by
Safe Passage: A Guide to Addressing School Violence offers expert perspectives and guidance in understanding, assessing, and addressing school violence. Although the book is designed for child and adolescent forensic psychiatrists and psychologists seeking proficiency in youth violence risk assessment, educators, school administrators, mental health clinicians, other health care professionals who work with children, and interested laypersons will also find the book both practical and illuminating. The editors' approach to school violence is informed by their educational, scholarly, clinical, and forensic work with children and adults who have been disenfranchised through the cumulative effects of poverty, trauma, untreated mental illness, and inadequate access to education. This background has fostered a sensitivity to and understanding of critically important developmental factors that can be passed on generationally, which are explored in depth in the volume. Case vignettes and follow-ups are used liberally to illustrate and illuminate the range of violent situations (e.g., bullying, cyberbullying, gang violence, sexual violence) likely to be encountered, as well as the advantages and disadvantages inherent in various interventions. The authors stress that threat assessment must take individual, school, and community variables into account, a complex but necessary task for mental health professionals and educators who wish to safeguard individuals and society from harm. This book provides a road map for understanding and addressing violence of all kinds in the school environment: * The subtyping of aggression is thoroughly explored, with special focus on reward-seeking behaviors and the development of impulse control in adolescents. * Identifying students at risk for violence or abuse at home is of critical importance. The chapter on danger at home teaches the reader to recognize trauma symptoms and examines the necessary steps toward establishing a trauma-informed or trauma-sensitive school environment.* In violence risk assessment, every student is evaluated in relation to static risk factors (historical variables that cannot be changed), dynamic risk factors (risk factors that are amenable to change) and protective factors. The authors emphasize that violence risk is characterized along a continuum rather than in binary fashion.* Case law is cited where relevant throughout the book, providing context for the evolution of school policies toward violence.* Key points and clinical pearls at the end of each chapter provide convenient summaries of information and help the reader focus on the most important ideas. Compassionate and comprehensive, Safe Passage: A Guide to Addressing School Violence introduces readers to important concepts pertaining to school violence and serves as a practical guide for mitigating and preventing violence in our schools.
ISBN: 9781615372669Publication Date: 2020
Understanding Social Anxiety: a Recovery Guide for Sufferers, Family, and Friends by
It is estimated that some 15 million Americans suffer from social anxiety disorder. For these individuals, parties, sporting events, and even workplaces or public shopping environments evoke anxiety and fear. People who suffer from social anxiety disorder--the most common of all anxiety disorders--fear being scrutinized and judged by others in social or performance situations. They know their fear is unreasonable, but are powerless against the anxiety. This book provides comprehensive coverage of social anxiety disorder by covering its history, explaining the symptoms and root causes, and presenting information on how to make the key changes in thought that can help sufferers find relief and be more comfortable in the modern world. The author uses case histories and dialogue in therapeutic settings to provide a realistic depiction of social anxiety that makes the topic more relevant and understandable to clinicians, students, and friends and family members of sufferers who want to help the socially anxious individual. The emphasis on people's resistance to changing or even examining the basis of their underlying beliefs illustrates the importance of this topic to the overall foundation of social anxiety and the urgency of addressing belief systems in the process of resolution and recovery.
ISBN: 9781440841965Publication Date: 2017
Check your Global Campus Library Portal for local library information.
At the Boston Campus --How to Request books from Remote Annex
Available at School of Law --book may be found at the School of Law Library.
Anxiety 101 by
This is the book I've been waiting for. The field has needed a clear and thorough review of anxiety, and now it exists. Joseph LeDoux, PhD, author, The Emotional Brain and Synaptic Self Center for Neural Science, New York University Anxiety 101, written by two prominent figures in the field of anxiety research, provides a thorough introduction to the concept of anxiety, placing it in the broad matrix of human concerns. The authors address evolutionary origins of anxiety, functions that anxiety and fear play in maintaining life, and ways in which these emotions can get out of control. An excellent introduction to students who want to understand the many ways in which scientists have approached the topic of anxiety. Charles S. Carver , PhD, Distinguished Professor of Psychology. Department of Psychology, University of Miami " What are the origins of anxiety? " How do we best assess anxiety? " How does anxiety affect cognitive outcomes? " Does intervention help? This book provides students with a clear understanding of anxiety research and practice. It reflects the substantial progress recently made in research in the areas of differentiation, new theoretical approaches, advances in locating the neurobiological underpinnings of anxiety and anxiety disorders, assessment, and treatment techniques. It covers many of the major contexts that produce anxiety in modern society, including tests, sports performance, social interaction, and more. The authors have culled vast amounts of up-to-date information on anxiety, including theory, research, assessment, individual differences, and interventions. Anxiety 101 draws upon contributions from the fields of personality and social psychology, stress, coping and emotions, psychobiology, and neuroscience in order to provide the most comprehensive information available. Key Features: " Provides a historical and theoretical approach to the study of anxiety " Presents a unified conceptual and research framework based on current transactional and cognitive-motivational views of stress and anxiety " Includes a state-of-the-art review of current theories, research findings, assessment, and treatment The Psych 101 Series Short, reader-friendly introductions to cutting-edge topics in psychology. With key concepts, controversial topics, and fascinating accounts of up-to-the-minute research, The Psych 101 Series is a valuable resource for all students of psychology and anyone interested in the field.
ISBN: 9780826104885Publication Date: 2011
The Freshman Survival Guide" soulful advice for studying, socializing, and everything in between by
A completely revised and updated values-based guide to navigating the first year of college that speaks to college students in their own language and offers practical tools that readers need to keep from drinking, sleeping, or skipping their way out of college. In the four years since its initial publication, The Freshman Survival Guide has helped thousands of first year students make a successful transition to college life. However, much has changed on campuses. The explosion of technology, ubiquity of social media, and culture changes have all added new layers of complexity to the leap from high school to college. The Freshman Survival Guide's updated edition features new research and advice on issues such as mental health, sexual assault, and finding balance. It also features expanded sections on dating, money management, and an increased focus on how the over 1.5 million incoming freshman can prepare themselves for the biggest change they've encountered in their lives: heading off to college.
ISBN: 9781455539000Publication Date: 2016
LGBTQ Clients in Therapy by
A therapist who treats LGBTQ clients often must be more than "gay friendly". Gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender clients have specific needs that require their own knowledge base. This book offers up-to-date information for clinicians treating LGBTQ clients, including new chapters on bisexual, transgender, sexually fluid and gender nonconforming clients.
ISBN: 1324000481Publication Date: 2018
Mindful Therapy: a guide for therapists and helping professionals by
Mindful Therapy is a welcome addition to the literature for psychotherapists, occupational therapists, therapists-in-training, and other types of teachers. A highly readable balance of theoretical groundwork, personal experience, case studies, and practice exercises, the book offers ways to bring the teachings of Buddhism into a psychotherapeutic practice, and provides a thorough explanation of the benefits of doing so. Grounded in his understanding of Buddhist teachings, Tom Bien's suggestions are particularly valuable to beginning therapists or those still in training, offering ways that therapists can care for themselves amid the challenges of their practice.
ISBN: 0861712927Publication Date: 2006
Nobody's Normal: : how culture created the stigma of mental illness by
For centuries, scientists and society cast moral judgments on anyone deemed mentally ill, confining many to asylums. In Nobody's Normal, anthropologist Roy Richard Grinker chronicles the progress and setbacks in the struggle against mental-illness stigma-from the eighteenth century, through America's major wars, and into today's high-tech economy. Nobody's Normal argues that stigma is a social process that can be explained through cultural history, a process that began the moment we defined mental illness, that we learn from within our communities, and that we ultimately have the power to change. Though the legacies of shame and secrecy are still with us today, Grinker writes that we are at the cusp of ending the marginalization of the mentally ill. In the twenty-first century, mental illnesses are fast becoming a more accepted and visible part of human diversity. Grinker infuses the book with the personal history of his family's four generations of involvement in psychiatry, including his grandfather's analysis with Sigmund Freud, his own daughter's experience with autism, and culminating in his research on neurodiversity. Drawing on cutting-edge science, historical archives, and cross-cultural research in Africa and Asia, Grinker takes readers on an international journey to discover the origins of, and variances in, our cultural response to neurodiversity. Urgent, eye-opening, and ultimately hopeful, Nobody's Normal explains how we are transforming mental illness and offers a path to end the shadow of stigma.
ISBN: 9780393531640Publication Date: 2021
Trauma Survivors' Strategies for Healing by
Trauma Survivors' Strategies for Healing offers the latest, recovery-oriented strategies to manage symptoms and take your life back from trauma. The decision to begin working on your trauma is not an easy one, but it is an essential step on your journey into healing. In Trauma Survivors' Strategies for Healing, clinical psychologist Dr. Elena Welsh delivers an actionable workbook with new strategies to rebuild from trauma and start living the life you want to lead. Based on scientifically-backed therapeutic strategies, Dr. Welsh will teach you practical, proven effective skills for working through trauma and healing your mind, body, and spirit. The exercises in Trauma Survivors' Strategies for Healing have helped thousands of trauma survivors cope and find relief from trauma-related symptoms in daily life. Whether the source of your trauma was one experience or a series of ongoing events, with Trauma Survivors' Strategies for Healing you will: Understand trauma with an in-depth introduction that addresses the wide range of symptoms associated with trauma as well as physical symptoms and illnesses. Discover the root of your trauma with self-diagnostic quizzes and reflective assessments to help you identify personal triggers and the specific symptoms you are experiencing. Take your life back with actionable strategies that deepen your mind-body connection and incorporate wellness habits into your everyday life. Trauma Survivors' Strategies for Healing arms you with the tools you need to heal, thrive, and enjoy life beyond trauma.
ISBN: 9781641521338Publication Date: 2018
- Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides video to help train students in counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new windowImmersive and interactive video content related to mental health. For patients and training for paractitioners.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window100+ videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, counseling and addiction treatment.
- Symptom Media This link opens in a new windowClinical training vignettes, produced with a multi-disciplinary behavioral health team and professional scriptwriters, filmmakers, and actors. Offers practice questions for continuing education exams.
Want to keep up to date with journals in your field?
Use Browzine, software that allows you to browse, read, and monitor many of the library's scholarly journals in a format optimized for your iOS or Android device.