It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biotechnology: Getting Started
A guide to library resources and tools for the Biotechnology program at Northeastern.
Getting started: Finding Relevant Sources in Biotechnology
Tackling a new topic?
Try looking for a review article first. Review articles attempt to summarize the state of research on a scientific topic. While lengthy & not generally including the very latest research, review articles can be a great way to start to get a handle on a topic.
Don't overlook the literature cited at the end of the review - the bibliography contains a wealth of information about the key discoveries & main researchers in the field.
Most databases (including BIOSIS Previews, PubMed & Web of Science below) will allow you to limit your search to include only review articles or literature reviews.
For articles describing primary research using scientific methods, written by experts in the field or scientists, try these biomedical, biology and life sciences databases:
Web of Science indexes over 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences (1975-present). Web of Science's strength is in its interdisciplinary focus and its ability to perform citation searching. Also works seamlessly with EndNote & EndNote Web citation management software.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index
Book Citation Index (2005-present)
Conference Citation Index
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Current Chemical Reactions Index
More than just medical literature, PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and publishers of life sciences literature. PubMed consists of 26 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals and online books.
- For more information on searching PubMed, click here.
Citations and abstracts to articles in life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. 1993 to present. Links to full text.
All Biosis Previews journals are indexed in Biosis Citation Index. However, Biosis Citation Index has additional citation data and is therefore more comprehensive than Biosis Previews.
Biosis Citation Index also has cited references captured back to 2006 for all Biosis Citation Index-indexed titles and cited references captured back to 1926 for Web of Science overlap journals.
For additional databases relevant for biotechnology topics, click here.