Get Started
In this guide you will find info about:
- What patents are
- Why patents are important
- Where to search for patents
- How to find patents relevant to your work
- Tutorials to help you use patent databases effectively
If you have questions, please contact Jodi Bolognese at j.bolognese@northeastern.edu.
Key Resources
Patent databases:
- Google Patent SearchSearches full text of many patents on the web. International coverage. Algorithms may not bring back the most recent or all relevant patents. Use Advanced Patent Search to search by various criteria including filing date and chemistry.
- LensThis free and open database of international patents has a modern, easy to use search interface and offers some unique patent searching tools, including gene sequence searching and patent citation analysis so that you can easily find related patents and other scholarly works.
- US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)Definitive source for US patents. USPTO also offers information about trademarks, US Intellectual Property policies, and instructions for how to apply for a US patent.
Patent searching tutorials:
Chemistry databases for locating patents
- SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n provides access to the worlds most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information, including millions of records and up-to-date patent and chemical information curated and aggregated by a global network of expert scientists. Links to patents and Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Reaxys (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a chemistry database that provides information about chemical structures, reactions, and properties. It also lists journal articles, patents, and other publications related to them, as well as substance property and reaction data, synthesis options and experimental procedures.
Northeastern Inventors
If you would like to explore patenting your invention, please visit the Center for Research Innovation for information about the process and support provided by Northeastern.